Untraditional

20 Dec

20111222-211530.jpg
Ah, family tradition. There is neither rhyme nor reason to many of my family traditions. Such as my father and I needing to make chocolate chip cookies together when I visit home, no matter how many other sweets there are. Come to think of it, most of our family traditions revolve around cookies. Much like these Greek Kourabiedies I wrote about last year, these Italian Sprinkle Cookies have no business being in my British/Irish/Scottish/German family’s repertoire. I think my Mom clipped the recipe from a magazine. I made them one year and they were so unbelievably awesome they made repeat performances. Then I moved from home and was making a gajillion batches of cookies AND transporting them to our family Christmas out of town and stopped making them because I was busy and they are a bit more involved and messy than a lot of the other stuff I made.
I made enough other cookies that people were distracted from the missing Sprinkle Cookies.
Then a couple years ago I sucked it up and made them and of course everyone declared that of the 10 different types of cookies we had, these were THE BEST and I HAD to make them again.
It’s true. They are, if not the best, in my top 3 favorite Christmas cookies. Though really they could be made any time of year with sprinkle colors to correspond with the holiday of your choice.
Got any interesting family Christmas traditions? Food or otherwise? Inquiring minds want to know.
Italian Sprinkle Cookies
6 eggs
5 c. Flour
2 c. Powdered sugar
2Tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 c. Shortening, melted
1 Tbsp. almond extract
1 1/2 tsp. lemon extract
GLAZE:
1/2 C. Warm milk
1 Tsp. almond extract
1 tsp. vanilla extract
4 c. Powdered sugar
Sprinkles or colored sugar
Beat eggs on high until light and foamy, a few minutes. In another bowl,stir flour, sugar and baking powder. Gradually add melted shortening and extracts and beat until a bead-like texture is formed. Gradually add eggs. This dough is quite stiff. Roll into one-inch balls and bake at 350 degrees on an ungreased cookie sheet for about 12 minutes. The cookies should not get brown, though the bottoms should brown a little.
While cookies are baking mix the milk and extracts for the glaze then whisk in sugar until no lumps remain. Set some cooling racks over wax paperor old newspaper(unless you feel like scraping icing off your countertops). As soon as cookies come out of the oven immerse them a few at a time in glaze until coated, then place on rack and add sprinkles while the glaze is wet. Let these suckers sit out for at least 12 hours for glaze to set. But feel free to test your product out in the meantime.

3 Responses to “Untraditional”

  1. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo December 26, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    We never had much of a holiday food tradition but we did have Spaghetti Sundays just about every week. My dad would make it, and, though he was no gourmet (Ragu and Kraft Parmesan with garlic salt toast), it was always a meal I looked forward to.

    • Ellen December 26, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      Love me some alliterative food days! Or drink days. My taiko drumming group used to have martini Mondays after rehearsal:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sticky « Scrumptious Gruel - December 27, 2012

    […] that was exhausted. I’m spent. I’m going to eat some more Christmas cookies […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

