Poturnip, potato

6 Jun

20120603-234053.jpg
I admit I really like that old-school mayo-mustardy potato salad. Oddly enough I’m generally not the biggest mayonnaise person, but that salad I can get behind.
I wanted to use up the spate of potatoes and turnips I got from the CSA so I decided to adapt this recipe from the May Bon Appetit into a potato-turnip salad.

I also left out the chopped red onion because I can’t take tasting red onion all day.

Then, whilst mashing the hard-boiled egg yolks for the filling and looking at the whites I realized it:

20120605-001310.jpg

This potato-turnip salad makes the best deviled eggs on earth.

And then you don’t waste the whites or have to eat them plain.

Seriously, BA, why did you not think if this? Slackers.

Eggy Potato Turnip Salad adapted from the May 2012 BonAppetit
1/2 pound boiled red potatoes, halved
2 c. Chopped boiled turnips
2 hard-boiled egg yolks, mashed
2 Tbsp. juice from a jar if sweet pickles
Freshly ground black pepper
1/4 c. Reduced fat mayo
Heaping 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
2 1/4 tsp. Dijon mustard
Sweet pickle chips to garnish
paprika to garnish
Mash the potatoes, yolks and turnips coarsely, part it should have large chunks amidst the sea of mash. Mix salt, pepper, juice, mayo, and mustard. Stir into the mash. Divide amongst you, yourself and whoever and garnish with the sweet pickle chip and paprika. Yah.

OR be brilliant and fill the discarded whites with the salad. Pshaw.

8 Responses to “Poturnip, potato”

  1. Rufina June 6, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    I love potatoes, eggs and turnips. This looks like a divine way to bring them together.

    • Ellen June 6, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      It’s pretty stellar:) I hope you get a chance to make it-it comes together pretty swiftly…

  2. Bernie Clifford June 7, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Hi Ellen;
    I have used turnips in my mashed potatoes….good flavor. I also will use parsnips for a little color. Enjoy your interesting recipes.
    Aunt Bernie

    • Ellen June 7, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      Ooh, parsnips, that’s a good idea. Maybe I will try a parsnip potato salad sometime…

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Ameena June 9, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    So funny…I am NOT a mayo person at all. Me and potato salad don’t usually go together well! But somehow I can tolerate it in sushi? Go figure.

    • Ellen June 9, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      Hmm, funny…can’t say I’ve tried it in sushi. Then again I can only eat veggie rolls so I don’t get the opportunity to eat sushi too much…

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) June 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    BRILLIANT! Your genius comes alive when handed a yolkless hard boiled egg!

    • Ellen June 12, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      Why thank you! Eggs are kind of the perfect food to get creative with-they can be cooked in so many ways…

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

