Brunettes for Bittman

11 Jul

20120527-182528.jpg
Cookies? Meh.
Cookie dough?
Yes sir may I have another sir.

This recipe for Blondies from my beloved Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” was the closer to raw dough than any other baked good I’ve experienced.

I made these for a party my new manager was throwing.

I have to say, clearly I picked the right representation.
My agent cooks Japanese feasts that introduce me tithe likes of lotus root and sake cocktails and my manager has a wine-tasting parties. Meow.

Supposedly this recipe was for blondies. But they were a wee bit dark to be thought of as blonde.
More like brunettes.

If the rate at which these disappeared from the dessert table is any indication, I am going to have to say, brunettes have more fun.

Yours truly does. She thinks. Stop talking about yourself in 3rd person, Ellen.

Ok.

Do gentlemen really prefer blondes?
Does Bittman, hence his faulty naming of this cookie?

Discuss, them bake:

Blondies from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman
1/2 c. Butter
1 c. Brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp. almond extract
Pinch salt
3/4 c. Flour
1/4 c. Whole wheat flour
Melt the buttah. Beat with sugar til smooth, then beat in egg and almond extract. Stir in flours. Bake in a greased 8 inch pan at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. When you take it out depends on how done you like your cookies. So I take it out pretty quickly.

6 Responses to “Brunettes for Bittman”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) July 12, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    You and your butta…do you think I could try this with the gluten free flours (brown rice and chickpea)?

    • Ellen July 12, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

      You can always try! I’d add maybe a quarter teaspoon xanthum gum to thicken…and please do use butter, and you might even add a little extra since the gluten-free stuff can be drier:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Ameena July 13, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Your new manager must love you! Not just because of your amazing talent but also because of your cooking skills. SO impressive.

    • Ellen July 13, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      Thank you! I am not sure if my manager made it to the desserts before the bars were gone…next time maybe I’ll have to make a double recipe:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey July 13, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Wow you’ve got some amazing bosses :O Brunette’s for sure have more fun :P One of the girls with me at the Europe trip actually brunettes were advertised more than blondes in Europe ;)

    • Ellen July 13, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      Uh-oh, time to move to Europe then! Actually, your blog is making me crave a vacation like nothing else…

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

