Braised tempeh

4 Apr

20130331-224450.jpg

My mistress, my lover, my one and only, i.e. my career, has kept me busy running about this year. Class! Audition! Improv! Stand-up! Writing! Screening!

This weekend she had a little soirée to attend where I praised her work in a little movie we watched that will be in the Chiller Network in May. She did ok. And I’m her worst critic. But I will be asking y’all to watch “Listen, My Children” in a couple of months.

I realized after doing stand-up last Monday (and after agreeing to do it again on the 15th!) that my mistress, Mz. Work, was tired. And hungry.

She came along when I ate at Caffe Roma to write this Blackboard Eats review, published today, but my official meat taster out-ate the both of us, as he usually does.

So I said ok, I’ll cook just for you.

I made her tempeh. And tonight I’m making her cinnamon rolls. Stay tuned!

Braised Tempeh for Your One and Only adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cool Everything Vegetarian

Olive oil spray
2 oz. tempeh, crumbled
3/4 tsp. minced garlic
3/4 tsp. ginger purée (I used jarred, feel free to use fresh)
Freshly ground pepper
Sea salt
1 cup diced tomato (I used canned)
1 Tbsp. soy sauce
Big handful of baby spinach
2 chopped green onions
1 Tbsp. chopped parsley
Spray a pan with olive oil and heat over medium-high. Add tempeh. Cook and stir, and when it gets a bit of color add garlic, ginger, and a sprinkle salt and pepper. Sauté a bit longer, until the tempeh is deeper colored. Add tomatoes and soy sauce, bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer until thickened. Stir in spinach, parsley and onions. Stir and cook just until the spinach wilts. Watch your lover melt in your arms after they taste it. Whee!

8 Responses to “Braised tempeh”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey on the Run April 4, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Sounds like you’ve had a busy week :) Hope you rocked that stand up comedy and I am assume you did since you’re doing it again :D

    I’ve actually never had tempeh before 0.0 Really need to get on that :P

    • Ellen April 4, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

      Yes, you do! It’s good stuff:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Kate@Diethood April 7, 2013 at 7:07 am #

    Oh my…where’s my spoon?! Can’t go wrong with a Mark Bittman recipe! YUMMMMMO!!!

    • Ellen April 7, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      Yep, love me some Bittman! The man does good work.

  3. sippitysup April 8, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    I have a mistress like that… such a whiner too. GREG

    • Ellen April 8, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

      Those careers…can’t live with em’, can’t live without em;)

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) April 10, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    I LOVE tempeh! Grrl, gotta try this one!

    P.S. LOVE hearing how your lover is keeping your running all over town!

    • Ellen April 10, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

      Grrrrl, you got a lovah of your own that you are doing crazy good with! And then there’s your man too:) I admire your ability to juggle it all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

