All Choked Up

17 Apr

20130222-144957.jpg
I cannot resist a decent pun.

I really love this. It’s all elegant looks but elegant is just egg minus a g and plus a few other letters.

Because this is really just extra-tasty egg salad.
I covered my love of remoulade, oui?

Less elegant, but easier, is to serve the dip in a bowl like a sane person:

20130222-145101.jpg

Artichokes Stuffed with Remoulade Egg Salad (adapted from Everyday Cooking with Dr. Dean Ornish
2 artichokes, steamed or boiled
2 chopped egg whites
1/4 cup reduced fat mayo
2 Tbsp. chopped parsley
2 tsp. brown mustard
Dash ketchup
1 tsp. chives
2 tsp. sherry wine vinegar
1 tsp. capers
Slice the cooked chokes in half and use a spoon to take out the thistle-y center.
Mix the remainder of the ingredients, take and play. Love capers? Add more. Need mo mustard in your life? Go for it. For elegance, spoon into the artichokes, or just serve on the side.

13 Responses to “All Choked Up”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey on the Run April 17, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    Very elegant indeed! I’ve actually never had artichokes… like ever… What are they like?

    • Ellen April 17, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

      You’ve NEVER had them?! Not even the hearts that come in cans? I am not sure how to describe them, gosh. Delicious is the only thing I can think of to say. Seriously, they are one of my favorites, you must get some. They are a bit if a trick to prepare as large parts of them are not edible, but sooo worth the trouble.

      • Nadiya @ Milk and Honey on the Run April 18, 2013 at 4:23 am #

        Hmm.. maybe I’ll start with the ones in the can and then tackle the real thing :P

      • Ellen April 18, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

        I’d probably actually recommend that. I am posting a recipe too soon that you can use frozen ones…

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. Judy Clifford April 17, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Dr. Dean Ornish is way behind the times if he thinks that leaving out the egg yolks makes this recipe “healthy”. We all know by now that egg yolks have things that are good for your brain. I also question using the low-fat mayo. It usually has other things that are less-than-desirable. If you are concerned about fat, substitute yogurt for part if the mayo.

    • Ellen April 17, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      I hate yogurt so I won’t be doing that! Yeah, it’s an ooollllld cookbook. Like from the 90′s. And don’t freak out mom, I haven’t given up yolks:)

    • Ellen April 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

      Also, who said I was posting the recipe for health benefits?

  3. Ellie April 18, 2013 at 6:50 am #

    Ahh! this looks amazing. Must make ASAP!

    • Ellen April 18, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

      Please do! Artichokes are in season so carpe diem;)

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. sippitysup April 24, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    I too enjoy a pun. GREG

    • Ellen April 24, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Yea, wordplay!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. kristygardner April 24, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    i LOVE getting ‘choked! By far – one of my favorite things in the world! uh, heh….

    p.s. just discovered your blog and you are adorable. adding you to my bloglovin.

    • Ellen April 24, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Glad you found the blog! Welcome to my nuttiness:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

