These should not look like these

22 Dec

These cookies should not look all flattened out. I suppose in years past I probably chilled the dough first, so they did not spread so. This is the first entry in my Christmas baking. Normally I go crazy with making the family traditional cookies. We have a bizarre assortment of cookies we make. Bizarre because there are lots of ethnic cookies like these Greek kourabiedies which make no sense for our family since we are not Greek. Gotta ask mom how this recipe made it’s way into our holiday traditions. It’s a simple dough: 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp. ground cloves, 1.25 cups of flour, and an egg yolk. Work it all into a dough with your paws, roll into balls, stick a clove in each, bake at 350 then dust with powdered sugar. And it normally stays in the cure little ball shape. I think I’ll blame humidity for my flat cookies-it’s been raining like crazy here. When I lived in St. Louis I could blame humidity for everything but rarely can one do this in Los Angeles so I better take advantage!

2 Responses to “These should not look like these”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Untraditional « Scrumptious Gruel - December 24, 2011

    […] are. Come to think of it, most of our family traditions revolve around cookies. Much like these Greek Kourabiedies I wrote about last year, these Italian Sprinkle Cookies have no business being in my […]

  2. Sticky « Scrumptious Gruel - December 27, 2012

    […] Phew, that was exhausted. I’m spent. I’m going to eat some more Christmas cookies now. […]

Leave a Reply

