Back to the Bittman Book

31 Jan

Oh Mark, I did not mean to neglect you. I am sorry for the affairs with Bon Appetit, and I know that cooking around with Hungry Girl was truly crossing the line. And I cannot promise it will not happen in the future. I confess in being poly, I need the content from cookbooks, magazines and blogs to be truly satisfied in the kitchen.
But you will be my main cookbook man.
And I gave you the benefit of the doubt, trying a dish with yogurt in it. I don’t normally care for yogurt so surely this gesture shows how much our relationship has come to mean to me.
I tried the baked version of your spinach with fresh cheese an yogurt. I used the mozzerella option instead of fresh cheese. I did not have garam masala so I made my own mix of spices: heavy on the coriander and cumin, accented with cinnamon, cloves, turmeric and freshly ground black pepper. And instead of a quarter cup of oil I used 1 1/2 Tablespoons of Smart Balance to toast the whole wheat flour in. This roux, mixed with the yogurt, cheese, spices, and blanched and shocked baby spinach was warming and delish.I promise not to forsake you for so long again, dear How to Cook Everything Vegetarian cookbook!

Leave a Reply

