This potato salad lacks charisma

18 Feb

…but it makes up for it’s lackluster looks with excellent taste. And the roses behind it are smashing, no? I wish I had exotic exciting taste in flowers like Eleanor, that would be cool. But no, I love the traditional romance of wine, candles and red roses. I digress. Because I am supposed to be talking about this recipe: Potato salad with cream cheese dressing from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by my other love in life, Mark Bittman. I had adorable fingerling taters from my organic delivery and cream cheese( ok it was fat free but it worked well) and half n half(Bittman calls for cream but I subbed this with success)in the fridge that needed using. I made a half recipe:
3/4 lb taters, cut into edible bites, boiled til tender.
6 Tbsp. Cream cheese, 1/4 cup of half in half melted in a small saucepan. Then whisk in 1/2 a tablespoon of fresh squeezed lemon juice, plus salt and pepper to taste. Fold in taters with 2 Tbsp. of chives. Chill. Both the potato salad and you, if you’ve got leisure time. Me, I ran off to acting class while the salad chilled.

Leave a Reply

