Patty Cake, Patty…egg?

20 Apr

I still have soy bacon to use up, as well as cheese so I decided to make another recipe from “The Big Book of Breakfast” by Maryana Vollstedt. I must say I’ve had that book for several years and everything I’ve ever made from it has been fantastic, including these Egg Patties. My changes to the recipe were halving the recipe, using egg beaters for a couple of the eggs, swiss cheese instead of parmesan, and soy bacon instead of real. Also, you are supposed to cook the bacon and then crumble it before mixing it in, but with the soy bacon I’ve found pre-cooking it turns it into very un-tasty dried up soy nublets. So I just chopped it up raw. Unlike real bacon you don’t really have to cook it at all and its safe. If you use real bacon though I assume you should cook it first to avoid getting sick from it. But what do I know? I haven’t touched meat in the last 18 years and I was too young to actually cook when I gave it up, so I am, and forever shall be a meat-cooking virgin. And a prolific run-on sentence writer.
Anywho, here’s MY recipe, adapted from Vollstedt’s:
Egg Patties
1 egg whisked with 1/2 cup egg substitute
1 ounce grated swiss cheese
2 chopped green onions
1/2 slice of toasted whole wheat bread, crumbled
1/4 cup chopped parsley
1 slice of soy bacon, chopped
pink fleur de sel to sprinkle on before serving
There was supposed to be pepper to taste but I forgot this and it still turned out great.
Mix it up and cook by heaping tablespoonfuls over medium heat. Sprinkle with the salt. Nummy. Quick. Pretty darned ideal supper. I ate the whole thing-approximately ten little patties.

Leave a Reply

