Vin vendredi?

17 Aug


Oops, its only Wednesday. Not Friday. But I have been trying post on Wednesday and Wine Wednesdays is just too cliche, so I started trying other languages and came up with Vin Vendredi. Fitting since one of the wines I am writing about is French. So it’s Wednesday, but I am giving you the drinks you should have on Friday, kapeesh?
That gives you time to plan.
I also had no pictures from the venue where I sipped these wines because it was too dark there and I did not feel like being the jerk with the flash going off.
I will tell you, however that City Sip, on Sunset Blvd. in Echo Park is awesome. Go there. Sip away. And order caprese sliders: small toasty sandwiches with tomato and mozzerella and basil. My problem with caprese salad is the raw tomatoes, I’m not into them(unless they are in a really spicy salsa). But the toasty sliders? Good stuff. Those tomatoes must be at least a little cooked.
On to the wine. First I tried a 2008 Grenache from Cass Winery, grapes grown in Paso Robles. I forgot to take notes on this. Oops. But I recall that it was darned delicious.
I know you are supposed to have white before red but I am a rebel so next up I had a white wine, this time from my favorite wine region, the Loire Valley. The Vouvray part of the Loire Valley. Say Vouvray. It’s even more fun than Viognier. It was a 2008 Vouvray from Charles Bove. This one had a bit more body to it than I expected, some fruit and…I need to take better notes. I highly recommend it though. In fact, it is my pick of the night.
I promise better details next time I decide do a wine Wednesday.

Wine question to ponder:
Do you have a region you find you particularly enjoy wines from?

Food question:
Raw tomatoes-delicious or the devil?

Discuss.

2 Responses to “Vin vendredi?”

  1. Sabrina August 18, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Love raw tomatoes – smaller the better. No beefsteak for me :).

    Methinks you are a texture girl and you dislike raw tomatoes for the same reason you dislike eggplant. Speaking of eggplant, I made a really yummy eggplant yogurt dip out of the one you gave me from your CSA delivery – thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Menage a deux « Scrumptious Gruel - October 19, 2011

    […] hippie. A glass of green tea with some of my SSSS ginger water would go well with this. Or some French wine. Take your pick. Eat this and you’ll be ready to go do things like wash your hair with baking […]

Leave a Reply

