CleanCabinetCasserole

15 Sep


I’d made this before. I had ingredients nearing their expiration dates, and work is getting busy again so I was not in the mood to experiement. Try going to an audition playing someone on a first date(double the nerves!), then changing in your car to head off for an audition in which you play an inept magician’s assistant. Such is the bizarre life of a Los Angeles actor. Fortunately the magician assistant garb segued perfectly to ballet class, my next stop of the day. And then the audition room was running so behind that I didn’t make it to class and had to give myself a ballet barre at home.
Enough of that nonsense, back to wanting to clean out the old stuff. It lead to my decision to make this chili relleno casserole. As if my own life were not spicy enough. The original version had cheddar in it, but the mozzerella was what needed using. So I did.
In retrospect, the version with cheddar was better, and I’d add some more seasonings, seeing as I did find myself grabbing the salt shaker for this. I’m imagining a version with roasted bell peppers and mushrooms instead of chilies, oregano, and a roasted garlic tomato sauce. Ok, except for that imaginative idea I am still creatively brain-dead(though it could be the heat more than the auditions responsible for that), so I’ll quit the yammering and leave you the recipe.
Chili-cheese-y Goodness(Based on a recipe from Evelyn Tribole’s Healthy Home Cooking)
7 oz. can of fire-roasted whole green chilies
1/2 c. evaporated skim milk
2 egg whites
2 T. and 2 tsp. whole-wheat flour
8 oz. shredded mozzella
1/2 c. tomato sauce
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Slit, seed, rinse and drain peppers. Mix milk, eggs and four until smooth. Set aside 1/4 cup cheese for topping. Layer 1/2 of the chilies, remaining cheese, and egg mixture in an greased 8×4 pan. Repeat layers. Pour tomato sauce over all and bake for about 30 minutes. Add cheese and bake about 20 minutes more, until a knife inserted in center comes out clean.

Question of the day:
What dream-ingredients would go in your pantry if it was magically suddenly empty?
What are your staples?

One Response to “CleanCabinetCasserole”

  1. MyMiBoSo September 17, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Amazing – despite a day running around for auditions you’re able to create a masterpiece of cheesy chile goodness. Very impressed!

Leave a Reply

