mega-gruel

29 Sep

It tasted good. It looked extra gruel-ish. I was trying to make Mark Bittman’s Cottage Cheese Patties. I thought I did not drain the cottage cheese enough because the patties just completely liquified over heat. The glop was deeeeelicious though.
I decided to make the sweet variation on them, (which omits the onion and herbs and adds lemon juice, lemon zest, sugar and cinnamon)using the other half of the egg from the first batch(I’d halved the original recipe). This time I squeezed out much more liquid of the cottage cheese.
And it failed again. And it did not even taste that good. Too lemony.
Bittman has never let me down before.
Please, someone out there try the Cottage Cheese Patties recipe and tell me it worked for them! I need to regain my faith in Mark, but I’m too tired to cook anything else from his book right now…

One Response to “mega-gruel”

  1. Sabrina September 30, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    Don’t give up! Email me the recipe and I’ll give it a try!

Leave a Reply

