please be ginger

10 Dec


I’m tender, this time of year. No really.
Christmas carols make me cry. And there is NOTHING worse than hearing the goddawful versions of “I’ll be Home for Christmas”. I shudder.
So I reverted to a favorite old 1950’s housewife-y cookbook to bake a present for a friend.
Instant cheer. I remembered I have about a billion things in my life to be happy about. Seriously no need to be mope-ey, unless I’m rehearsing another goth-y role.
Christmas food gifting is where it is at. Brings me joy and cheer and merriment. Hopefully brings the recipient all those things too. I made a friend of mine this gingerbread-which technically is a molasses bar cookie, but it seems gingerbread-y to me. All was well. Cheer abounded and my home smelled happy. Success. Sweet success.
No, literally, sweet success.
I’m gonna go make some pomanders or something.
Question for you, readers-please comment! Gingerbread, gingerbread people, or gingersnaps? And holiday tunes, yes or no?
Molasses Creams(adapted from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook-well it was new in 1953)
1 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. smart balance
1/4 cup splenda
1/4 cup molasses(I used regular, the recipe calls for “light”-just don’t use blackstrap)
1/4 cup hot water
2 Tbsp. beaten egg
3/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp. salt
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1/8 tsp. baking soda
1/4(heaping) tsp. instant espresso
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. cloves
Powdered sugar(plus milk if you want to make a spreadable frosting-I had none so I just sifted a thick layer over the bars and called it snow)
Cream butter, splenda and smart balance. Beat in molasses and egg. Add hot water and beat in. sift in remaining ingredients and beat until well blended. I baked this in an 8×8 pan I made slightly smaller by lining with aluminum I folded in to make more like an 8×7 pan. I’d maybe just use something like a 9×5 in the future. Either way put it in a 350 degree oven and bake approximately 20 minutes-just keep an eye on it and when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean, it’s done. Whilst still warm, sift powdered sugar over.

One Response to “please be ginger”

  1. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo December 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I’ve been out of town and missing my Gruel…and this is a drool worthy one as I’m a huge fan of molasses!

Leave a Reply

