It’s Greek to me

14 Jan

20111230-003735.jpg
The quiche. Unlike my confusion surrounding my Danish Potato Salad(not that Danish according to a Dane!)I get this quiche. I don’t think quiche is Greek, per se. But Greek cuisine does have things like tomatoes and feta so I get why they call this Greek. I get it. Unlike life. Which I don’t get. And I don’t think I should.
I also don’t get olives.
I hate them. Actually, it seems to run in my family on both sides-maternally and paternally.
My mom claims that one time she actually enjoyed an olive in France. One time. Clearly she was intoxicated on the vin they serve there.
All this is to say, I left the olives out of this quiche, but if you are not a Clifford, or making this for one, feel free to add some and kick up the Greek-i-ness.

Any foods you can’t stand? Is it familial?

Greek Quiche(adapted from The Big Book of Breakfast by Maryana Vollstedt)
3 eggs
1/2 c. Almond milk
1 c. Half and half
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 tsp. salt
A few handfuls if baby spinach
1 c. Grated reduced fat mozzarella
1/4 c. Sundried tomatoes(soaked for five minutes in boiling water, drained, dried, chopped)
1/4 c. Sliced green onions
1/2 c. Crumbled low fat feta
Preheat oven to 350.whisk eggs, salt, pepper, oregano, almond milk and half and half. Stir in spinach, mozzarella, tomatoes and onions. Pour into a pie plate sprayed with nonstick spray. Sprinkle with feta. Bake until knife inserted in center comes out clean, around 40 minutes.

6 Responses to “It’s Greek to me”

  1. foodiefiasco January 16, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Mmm. This sounds delish! And I love that it’s crustless!

    • Ellen January 16, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      Yes! Admittedly, I might have made crust if I had had more time, but the quiche is probably healthier this way:)

  2. Nadiya January 16, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Love crustless quiche, especially this one cuz I love Mediterranean food. Haha I used to absolutely hate bacon when I was little, the smell would disturb me so much that I’d leave the kitchen whenever my mom would cook it.

    • Ellen January 16, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Never was a huge bacon fan either, when I ate meat!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) January 19, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    You’re crazy! Olives are delightful!

    P.S.
    Thanks for the recipe – needed an easy veg dish the man can make for us on his cooking nights!

    • Ellen January 19, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      Much like children, olives are fine…if I don’t have to deal with them:)

Leave a Reply

