Un-pizza week: day one

23 Jan

20120114-223808.jpg
Un-pizza!!
Because pizza week is too obvious. I’m such a rebel. Hear me yell.
Pizza-themed food that is not EXACTLY what we think of as typical pizza. It’s a brave new world of oregano flavored edibles.
Un-pizza comes in two main varieties:
Type A: Food that uses pizza flavors in different formats.
Type B: Food that uses a pizza format(solid, usually carb-y round base, spread with one or two things, with various vegetable or protein-y toppings scattered on top)but uses different flavors. I will be making mostly the former. Because a lot of the type B’s have no business using the word pizza in their name.

Example: A crisp tortilla, spread with beans, sprinkled with cheese and peppers? That is not a “Southwestern pizza”, people. It’s a tostada.

So get ready! There will be un-pizzas for pasta people, un-pizzas for anti-carb people, and ever so much more.
And as you eat them you can let that scream out. And bask in how outside the box you are.

How do you feel about Type A in-pizzas versus type B?

First up in Un-pizza week is a pizza-ish casserole. I adapted this recipe using what I had on hand from the allrecipes app called Pasghetti Pizza, posted by someone named KELMES.

I liked this. Obviously since I’m posting it. You should too. Smiley face.

Pizza Casserole(adapted from Pasghetti Pizza posted on the Allrecipes iPhone app by KELMES)
4 oz. rotini, cooked and drained
1/2 cup almond milk
1 egg
3/4 tsp. powdered garlic
3/4 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. dried parsley
freshly ground black pepper
1 cup grated reduced fat mozzerella
1 3/4 c. tomato-basil pasta sauce
1 sliced vegetarian Italian sausage.
Preheat oven to 400. Spread both pastas in an 8×8 dish sprayed with nonstick spray.
Mix milk, egg, garlic, salt, pepper and parsley with 1/4 cup of the cheese. Pour over pasta. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup of cheese.
Baked 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 degrees. Pour pasta sauce on top, then top with sliced sausage and remaining cheese. Cook until cheese is melted.
Raaaawwwwwwrrrrr! That’s good stuff.

6 Responses to “Un-pizza week: day one”

  1. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo January 26, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    Looks fun! And easy! Gotta be easy for me to try it! Might try my homemade Seitan instead of that sausage – fake meats have such weird ingredients sometimes!

    • Ellen January 26, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Yeah, this one is super-duped easy. For the most part I’m not too keen on fake meat either, especially since I don’t think too much soy agrees with my body and I never was a big meat eater anyway. The lite life Italian veggie sausages are one of the few subs I actually find crave-worthy so when they are on sale, I’ll pick some up. Let me know how the seitan works!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College January 28, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    This is just awesome haha I LOVE it!

    • Ellen January 28, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      YEA! Thank you:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your favorite pizza sucks, my favorite pizza rules! (Part 3) | World (and Lunar) Domination - January 24, 2012

    […] Un-pizza week: day one (scrumptiousgruel.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Second Annual Un-Pizza Week Day One: Oatmeal pizza « Scrumptious Gruel - January 28, 2013

    […] have explained un-pizza week before here. It is pizza flavors in unusual formats. Some people do different ingredients in pizza format, but […]

Leave a Reply

