Dip it up: Un-pizza day 2

24 Jan

20120119-030629.jpg
If it doesn’t dip like a dip, is it still a dip?
Am I the only one who doesn’t really like the word dip? And dipstick. Yech. Something about it makes me shudder.

So while this could have been properly heated and used like a dip, I was having none of that.
I made a boatload of changes to the original recipe. I made little individual serving-lets, and baked rather than microwaved it. But feel free to double it and microwave in a pie pan if, unlike me, you have a shindig to bring it to. And people who want to get dippy wit it.
I used roasted red pepper instead of green bell pepper. I put all the mozzerella on top. There were probably a few other tweaks but I forget. So the recipe you are getting is a bit distant from the original. It is the un-pizza un-dip. That is a double negative that does not translate to a positive.
If it did it would end up like a real pizza with toppings that could be scooped with a celery stick.
I also let this chill after baking so I could unmold it and see the layers:

20120119-030809.jpg
Pretty! Colors! Better than dippy sludge, no?
Then I left some if it chilled(ain’t nothing like cold pizza!) and reheated the other part. The verdict is it is quite tasty both ways.
As I said, I didn’t get dippy with this. I did not even try to spread it. I ate it straight up, like my salsa. Except for this I used a fork.
Hot Pizza Dip(adapted from allrecipes.com, original recipe by Dayna Dumas)
4 oz. cream cheese
1/4 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. dried parsley
1/4 tsp. dried basil
Freshly ground black pepper
Dash sea salt
1 cup shredded low-fat mozzarella
1/2 cup tomato basil pasta sauce
1/2 jarred roasted red bell pepper, sliced into long strips
1 vegetarian Italian sausage, sliced
Mix cream cheese, herbs, black pepper and salt. Spread in two small bakers or ramekins. Cover with pasta sauce, then cheese, then red bells and sausage. Bake at 350 for…I dunno, awhile. Til it is bubbly and the cheese is browning is probably the best indicator.

2 Responses to “Dip it up: Un-pizza day 2”

  1. Ellie January 24, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    Yum! I think I’m going to try making this for book club on Saturday

    • Ellen January 24, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      Awesome, let me know how it goes over:)

Leave a Reply

