Pizza Pancake: Un-pizza Day 3

24 Jan

20111219-010713.jpg
I love pancakes. But I tend to think of them as sweet and not savory.
Nevertheless.
This recipe for pizza pancakes fit my pizza theme.
Moreover.
It looked awesome.
All the same.
I knew I must make it.
It is vegan, until, like me, you add cheese. Unless it is faux cheese. I made one with melted mozzarella on top and one with a side of cottage cheese. I would be more likely to consider vegan-ism if there were a faux cottage cheese.

20111219-011144.jpg

I’m not sure these would quell any major pizza craving.
Also I’d say this is a single serving. It makes four small cakes.

What are your favorite vegan substitutes? Do you know if anyone makes a vegan cottage cheese?

Pizza Pancakes(adapted just a tad from Heather Eats Almond Butter)
1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
1/2 c. H2O
2 Tbsp. ground flaxseed
1 Tbsp. tomato paste
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/2 dash dried marjaram
1/2 tsp. dried basil
1/2 tsp. dried parsley
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
Freshly ground salt and pepper
Grind oats to a flour in food processor. Combine all ingredients and allow to sit 10-15 minutes to thicken. Heat up a pan or griddle over low heat. Stir batter again, spray pan with non-stick element of your choosing and cook. Doctor them up as you see fit.

2 Responses to “Pizza Pancake: Un-pizza Day 3”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) January 27, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I don’t understand how you like cottage cheese and hate avocado. Both are mushy, no?

    I would make this except Omid hates pancakes. I mean, really, who hates pancakes? I suppose I should be saying the same for avocado-haters… 😉

    • Ellen January 27, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      But, there are so many types of pancakes! Perhaps if you refer to it as, I dunno, a patty, he’d like it? As for avocados, more for you;)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

