Do as Mark says(which will also be as I do): we all win

25 Feb

20120216-010826.jpg
This was a slightly daunting recipe for me. It has a few steps. First you have to make yer beans. Dont buy canned.

Cause Mark says so. And I do whatever Mark Bittman tells me. I am the submissive type in relationships.

Next you make refried beans with your freshly cooked beans.
Then you used those beans to make the dip.

A day long process. But a day with my cookbook writer lover Bittman and my sexy sexy true love the red Kitchen Aid food processor so it’s alllll good. It’s all fruits and vegetables. As my friend Eliza and I(who have a friendship old enough to drink now) used to say.

Ya. I haven’t much else to say except that shallots are better than onions. For the win. I wish I’d had shallots for this dip.

Onions vs. shallots vs. leeks cage match. Who do you think wins? Please vote with a comment. Voting is important. Let’s practice for November.

Refried Bean Dip(adapted slightly from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman
Start with dry black beans. Soak them at least 8 hours. Drain, put in a pot with lots of water, bring to a boil then simmer til tender. This will totally depend on your beans so plan on an hour, give or take. Drain, reserving some of the liquid.
For your refried beans:
1 1/2 cups of your cooked beans
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin, possibly more
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1/8 or more tsp. of cayenne because some like it hot. Others do not.
Add some olive oil to a large skillet and heat. Stir the onion over medium til it’s good n brown then brown it up more with the cumin for a minute. Add the beans and stir an smash em’. I used a potato masher for this. I don’t really care for mashed potatoes. Smashed though, that’s good. Good and chunky. I’m getting off topic. When your beans are chunky and broken up add salt, pepper, cayenne and more cumin if that’s your bag, baby. It is mine.
For the dip:
The refried beans you just made
1/4 c. Minced onion you have soaked briefly in water and drained-if like me you aren’t into lingering onion taste (shallots are a delectable alternative)
1/4 c. Minced jarred roasted bell pepper
Dash or two of your hot sauce of choice(I like the brand Bufalo in Chipotle)
1/2 tsp. red wine vinegar
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper.
Blend up about 1/2 of the beans with some of the cooking fluid to make a lovely purée. If it ain’t lovely throw in the towel, your efforts have been in vain. Kidding. Puréed black beans are not too lovely to behold.
Stir the purée into the other beans with remaining ingredients. Taste and add more seasonings if you like. Add cooking fluid(if you want) til too the consistency you like.

2 Responses to “Do as Mark says(which will also be as I do): we all win”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) March 2, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    I can do this…but should I go all standard and dip nachos in it or do you have a more creative suggestion?

    • Ellen March 2, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Well, to be honest, I half filled a bowl with my favorite Vons salsa I eat by the spoonful, put a lot of this bean deliciousness on top, then put a honking big glop of cottage cheese on the side and sort of mixed and matched bites, eating with a spoon. I think there might have been a whole wheat tortilla on the side. Ah, the eating habits of singletons:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

