Get mod: go Mennonite

29 Feb

20120210-005038.jpg
Ever wonder what Mennonites in Ohio make?
Getting modern with it, they are.
Thanks to a very kind gift from a old friend I learned all about it. They are a sophisticated bunch. At least people hanging out at the Rosedale Mennonite Missions International Center are.

Most community or church cookbooks are full of classic potluck fare: “salads” full of mayonnaise, casseroles galore, and other hearty fare. I LOVE these cookbooks, but this church cookbook was a refreshing change of pace. It has quite a variety of foods from round the world.
Ive never seen Indian food in a community cookbook before.
I switched up quite a few things based on what I had on hand, but hey, that just makes this more international, yah?
It called for curry powder, and seeing as I don’t usually care for curries, I made my own blend accentuating the parts if a curry blend I like most.
Cumin and cinnamon are my most favorites. Though for savory purposes I kept the cinnamon minimal.

I had some potatoes and some turnips so I added the nips in.

I’m all about nips. You gotta be if it go around bra-less.

If the word nom was still acceptable I’d use it here to describe the utter scrumptiousness of this. But I don’t use words like nom. I strongly dislike that shi-stuff. I meant stuff. We are among the holy here.
Indian Potato Salad(adapted from the World at your Table, an RMM cookbook compiled by Susannah Fath
3/4 pound red potatoes
2 turnips
2 tsp. cumin seeds
1 1/2 tsp. salt
Your own curry mix-1 1/2 tsp.(my blend included ground cumin, ginger, turmeric, coriander, cardamom, cinnamon and freshly ground black pepper)
Pinch of cayenne
I jarred roasted red bell pepper, chopped
Cilantro to taste(I like lots)
Peel turnips. Cut taters and turnips up. Desired size.
Bring a pot of water to boil, add taters and neeps(potatoes and turnips)
Boil til tender then transfer to a bowl. Meanwhile, toast cumin seeds for a couple of seconds.
Add all spices to taters and neeps with remaining ingredients and toss.
Then toss in yo’ tum.

7 Responses to “Get mod: go Mennonite”

  1. Kelly @ Foodie Fiasco March 1, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Yuuuuuuuummy! I haven’t had a potato salad in the longest time!

    • Ellen March 1, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Well then, seize the day;) this one is a good one!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) March 2, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Oh yes, so simple, love it! And I love all things curry, so I will kick it up a notch with ‘dem spices! Yes I said ‘dem. Not as bad as ‘nom 😉

    • Ellen March 2, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Dem is great! Up there with y’all:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey March 3, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Yumm… curry! Omg! don’t start me on a rant about cinnamon. Best thing ever! Not to mention I learned in my naturopathy class that it lowers blood sugar and helps control diabetes 😀 (just a random fact). Also, turmeric is an antimicrobial 😉

    • Ellen March 3, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      I love getting the benefits of your studies! Yep, I’ve heard turmeric is right up there with blueberries in terms of of health benefits:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For one? Second Annual Pumpkin Week in Spring Day One « Scrumptious Gruel - April 25, 2012

    […] my friend. She wanted to see soup on the pumpkin week menu. It is thanks to this friend I made this Indian Potato Salad so when she requested that I make a soup part of Pumpkin Week in Spring, I […]

Leave a Reply

