Eggs in a nest

28 Mar

20120210-233418.jpg
Well, duh, that’s way they are supposed to be.
But what if the eggs are the nest? Crazy, dude.
Do it.

I think maybe I spread the egg whites a bit thin on the bottom. Unexpectedly the yolk formed a layer at the bottom of the nest. I accidentally broke the yolk before depositing it in its nest so that probably played a part in this too.
But if you are into striped food(I am!)this is actually pretty nifty:

20120210-233728.jpg
That was the nest, bisected.

Eggs in a Nest(from the 1964 version of the Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer andarion Rombauer Becker)
Heat oven to 350. Beat egg white til good and stiff. Like I like my drinks.
That’s a lie. About the drinks. Because I’m a total lightweight.
But the egg whites, yes. Beat em’.
Pile in a sprayed dish, make a hole for the yolk and add it in, bake until set, ten-ish minutes. Season to your taste with freshly ground sea salt and pepper.

7 Responses to “Eggs in a nest”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey March 28, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Oh that’s super neat 🙂 I wonder if it’ll work in the microwave 😛

    • Ellen March 28, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Give it a try and let me know how it works out!

  2. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo April 2, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Think it will work in a cast iron? I love egg creations!

    • Ellen April 2, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      I don’t have any cast iron so I don’t know, but I don’t see why not!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate bundt Easter eggs « livindolcevita - March 29, 2012

    […] Eggs in a nest (scrumptiousgruel.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Stupid simple « Scrumptious Gruel - August 15, 2012

    […] no pictorial evidence but I put an eggs-in-a-nest on it […]

  3. Deconstructed Reconstructed | Scrumptious Gruel - August 15, 2013

    […] Egg (adapted from Fannie Farmer and this here recipe) 1 raw egg, separated 1 hard-boiled egg (whites chopped, yolk sieved) 1/2 tsp. melted butter Pinch […]

Leave a Reply

