Lurve yourself

30 Mar

20120330-002457.jpg

Warning. If you are a person who is bitter and hates it when people get serious and talk about shit like self-respect don’t read this entry or you may decide you hate me. I probably would have bypassed the following reading at points in my life. I’m about to get a little self-indulgent here. Fair warning. I promise to get back to sarcasm and self deprecating banter soon. I’ll bring back the dark gothiness too. Patience.

We are making a toast and celebrating today. We’re celebrating me and you. You and me. Good stuff has been happening.

I had decided this year I am dating my career. Taking it out, spending quality time with it, dressing it up. It gets lonely at night sometimes, dating one’s career, since it is always working. It’s not too snuggly. But it always comes home at night-except when it has night shoots that is.

My plan has started paying off.

I got a new manager. I have been booking work. I joined the union. I am being An Actor.

On the non-acting front, I’m a writer now too, y’all! My first review evah, that’s eeeevvvvaaahhhh, got published yesterday here.

And now some vocabulary, courtesy of dictionary.com’s word of the day: Eudemonia 1. Happiness; well-being.
2. Aristotelianism. Happiness as the result of an active life governed by reason.

Eudemonia. It’s what I’m feeling.

I’d made my career my raison d’etre, which is a reason I was governing my life by, not straight up reason itself, but it has led to some degree of happiness. So naturally the next step will be to marry it. I’m gonna propose. Keep you posted on how that works.

In the meantime I took me, my career, and my state of eudemonia out. With a friend.

We went that evening to the nearby Rockwell to celebrate. I love their glowing walls you see behind my glass of rose in the main picture.

So if I can wax even more philosophically I think good things are happening because I had enough respect for myself to make me and my career the number one thing for a while.

You should to. Love yourself. Take care of yourself. It’s good for you and it’s good for the world.

Go out and make a toast and a roar to yourself, you deserve it.

If you want to stay in, however. Here is an Ellen-ified traditional. Cause this ain’t no cooking blog without a freakin’ recipe:
Un-totally-classic Martini, the Ellen way
2 ounces vodka
1/2 ounce dry vermouth
Lime twist
The lime makes it Ellen. Stir that mofo. Sip. Don’t swill. Smile to yourself and think “life is on its way”.

7 Responses to “Lurve yourself”

  1. Ameena April 1, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    Love this. And we all need a little break from the sarcasm every once in a while, don’t we? 🙂 Rockwell sounds great!

    Hope you are having a fantastic weekend so far.

    • Ellen April 1, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      Hehe, yes, a little brightness is a good change:) The Rockwell is great. If you’ve never been there or the Vermont, the restaurant it’s behind it is well worth a visit. The food is fantastic!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo April 2, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    This post makes me so happy…you are genius.

    • Ellen April 2, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Well you get to give yourself some credits for this one, superwoman:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For one? Second Annual Pumpkin Week in Spring Day Three « Scrumptious Gruel - April 25, 2012

    […] mentioned before, I’ve been dating my career this year, and she is one foxy […]

  2. Faux real « Scrumptious Gruel - January 10, 2013

    […] shoot the next day, I figured I should really try to mix things up for my lover (which is to say my career-we’ve been together almost a year now!) and try the exotic flavors of […]

  3. Third Annual Pumpkin Week in Spring Day Two: Pumpkin protein pancakes | Scrumptious Gruel - May 21, 2013

    […] Observe cottage cheese and cinnamon topping. It’s Tuesday. You’re busy, I’m busy (doing my mistress) and I think I should just get on with the goods. pumpkin Protein Pancakes from the NuNaturals […]

Leave a Reply

