Simple food, simple clothes

7 Apr

Ham n swiss on rye. Classic.
Except when it’s vegetarian ham and Swiss on a rye crispbread(I won quite the assortment from Lynn’s lovely blog giveaway) with Dijon.

20120406-011843.jpg
Not exactly an original recipe. That’s ok, I have something else original for y’all this week.
I took me forever to do, seeing as I was sewing by hand.
Behold, the stocking skirt:

20120407-184909.jpg
Because I aspire to not have to go clothes shopping and only have to buy stockings. Plus I hate throwing things away.
Also behold the cool fountain my girl Sabrina and I happened upon on our way back to the car from the Museum of Contemporary Art:

20120407-185151.jpg
I love downtown LA.

Questions for the readers!
What simple foods do you love? Do you make your own clothing?
And LA-ites, what part of LA is your favorite? Or tell me something about where you live that you love. I beg of you, leave a comment and tell me!
It gets lonely here on ye olde interwebs

6 Responses to “Simple food, simple clothes”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey April 8, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    That skirt is soooo cute! I wish I could make/ design clothing myself. At my university, my faculty hosts an annual fashion show and there’re a bunch of people who design clothing. I’m so jealous lol 😛 As for simple go foods… hmm… do apples and peanut butter count 😛 They’re a filling snack ^^ Also I wish went to the museum of contemporary art when I was at LA last summer 😦 The fountain looks gorgeous

    • Ellen April 8, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Apples and peanut butter all the way! I love that combo. As for LA next time you come here let me know and I’ll tell ya the awesome places you must see:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Ameena April 11, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    I wish I could sew but even a button poses a problem for me. My friendly drycleaner handles all my alterations! Very cute Ellen!

    As for LA…my favorite part is probably Westwood where I live. I love that everything is in walking distance. And since I moved here from the suburbs 12 years ago we have so many more amazing grocery stores and restaurants! Check out Skylight Gardens…it just opened up and it is fantastic.

    I also love The Grove. Hate the parking situation but love the Italian restaurant right by the water fountain area. La Piazza?

    Oh, and I can’t forget the overpriced but fantastic True Food Kitchen in Santa Monica. My fave restaurant in a gorgeous outdoor mall.

    • Ellen April 11, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Awesome. I may live on the East side but since acting work takes me all over I love trying places all over LA. I’m adding Skylight Gardens and True Food to my list of places I must try.
      I like the Grove and La Piazza too! I often have the deep need to visit the Cheesecake Factory for the chocolate layer cake there, haha. And then there’s Anthropologie…
      Anyway, thanks for the the recommendations Ameena!

  3. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) April 14, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Simple snacks! I live for them…
    Apple with almond butter
    Yogurt w/maple syrup and Weetabix
    Lavash bread w/feta cheese, walnuts, and basil (inspired by my Persian man)

    Now more importantly, let’s discuss how hot you are in your stocking skirt. I’m not kidding, you are a GENIUS. Thanks again for being my art night date!

    • Ellen April 14, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      Ooh, Weetabix are good! I like the lavash with feta idea too, your man inspires good things:) And thank YOU my art date for taking the brilliant pictures! Let’s see if it takes me another year to get another skirt stitched, hehe…

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

