Shape up or ship out or order in

11 Apr

Or practice.

20120228-005804.jpg
Sometimes I love it because I put a ring on it.
Wait. No.
Because I put it in a ring.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again:

Food that can be shaped is better than amorphous mounds. I know some would disagree. That’s your opinion and you are entitled to it, but know that in Ellenwood, shaped food really is superior.

If you want to stay you’ll need to go with the Ellenwood flow. If not you can leave now and go get a bowl of rice somewhere. But if you stay in Ellenwood, or as it used to be called, Ellenwoodland, then food is sometimes shaped. And rice will be black and sticky. Like my soul. And it’s always betta with buttah. Also like my soul.

Please stay with me in this land. Just a little bit longer.

Cause I’m going to be baking more ring mold items. I need the practice in unmolding:

20120227-230443.jpg

Baked Noodle Ring with Cheese(The Fannie Farmer Cookbook-1965 edition)
4 oz. penne
1 Tbsp. Smart Balance
1/2 c. Almond milk
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
Tiny tinier tiniest pinch nutmeg
2 eggs, separated(yolks lightly beaten, whites beaten into stiff peak submission)
1/2 c. Grated mozzarella, reduced fat
Cook and drain zee noodles. Add all but egg whites and mix, then fold in whites. Grease an 8-inch ring pan and add noodle mix. Put ring pan in a larger pan filled with hot H2O and bake at 325 til done-30 minutes give or take.

Unmold with caution. If it is dumpy like mine, at least you tried, you’re a trouper.

Ring molds, like or no?

2 Responses to “Shape up or ship out or order in”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) April 14, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Admit it, you’re a midcentury housewife trapped in a modern girl’s body 😉

    I love eating shaped food! Making it, not so much. In fact I attempted making garbanzo tahini burgers last night…which turned into more of a hash as I forgot to drain the beans (oopsy). That said they TASTED delicious which I’ll take over good lookin’ food any day!

    • Ellen April 14, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      Yes, taste is the most important for sure. I often have problems with making “burgers” set up properly as well. It’s really difficult to nail down the right consistency so hint hints stay together but are not too dry. Garbanzo tahini burgers sound good-like hummus in burger form!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

