For one, fo’ realz

12 May

20120430-232401.jpg
I have to use words like “realz” to counteract the amount of Shakespeare I’m spouting. That’s right. Shakespeare. I just started rehearsals for a play, y’all. More details in future posts. Moving on.

I love single person recipes. Which gives me a tinge of sadness that they are not “for two” recipes until I remember I am cooking for me and my small-eater love, my career.

Who doesn’t love a good quesadilla? I mean really. Certainly not my career. She ate it all and left me none. She does the same thing with my time and energy, selfish whore,

But she’s really sometimes delightful and fulfilling so I’ll keep feeding her.

Good thing these are easy:

Bean and Chili Quesadilla for Uno(from How to Cook to Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman)
olive oil spray
1 tsp. minced garlic
1/2 poblano chili, chopped
2 Tbsp. black beans
2 tortillas(wheat or corn, I used corn-multigrain-flax ones)
cilantro
1 oz. shredded cheese(I used Swiss)
Spray nonstick skillet with olive oil and heat over medium. Cook garlic and chili a couple of minutes then add beans. Transfer to a bowl and add cilantro.
Clean skillet then spray and heat again, over medium low. Put a tortilla in it and spread chili-bean mixture and cheese on it, then add another tortilla. Cook a couple minutes, til cheese starts to melt. Flip, cook a wee bit longer. Then mangia. Comate!

4 Responses to “For one, fo’ realz”

  1. Ameena May 13, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    I took a Shakespeare class once…I’m still confused. And it’s been years and years. 🙂

    Hope the weekend was a good one! The quesadilla looks delicious.

    • Ellen May 13, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

      It was a good weekend, thank you! Shakespeare is so dense and complex. It definitely takes a lot of time to figure out-even after all the experience I’ve had with it I’ll be working on a monologue and make new discoveries every time… I hope you had a beautiful weekend too!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) May 18, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    I think you and your career-lover and me and my man toy should double date sometime…just saying. 😉

    • Ellen May 18, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Absolutely!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

