Gatsby time again: #

9 Jun

20120516-221121.jpg
Yes indeed. Another succulent hash.

It is feeling like summer.

Summer makes me think of the Great Gatsby.

Hashes make me think of The Great Gatsby.

So in honor of The Great Gatsby’s location, East and West Egg, I opted for an egg hash. So logical.

The Great Gatsby also think about Daisy and how she made people have to lean in to hear her as she spoke in her whispery way.

I’d sort of love to draw people to me like that but…I’m not like that.

So I draw people to me with hashes instead.

Daisy and Gatsby make me think of lovers.

So I turned to my lover Bittman, for a hash.

So damn logical.

Not quite as toothsome as this succulent one.
Less spicy than this one.
Easier to make than this one.

And with it, I believe I’ve conquered just about all Bittman’s hashes. Now to conquer him.

And to re-read Gatsby.

But before the recipe, a bloggerific notice: I am headed into tech week for A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and will not be posting next week. I’ll return to you with a very, ahem, cosmopolitan week of recipes on Monday the 18th. If you desire more Ellen in your life before then, come to the play! Tickets here: http://m.bpt.me/event/243225 or call 323-601-5310

Egg Hash(adapted from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman
Olive oil spray
1/2 lb. roasted potato wedges
2 hard-boiled eggy-weggs(whites chopped, yolks mashed separately)
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp. minced garlic
3 Tbsp. chopped scallions
Spray pan with oil and heat to medium high. Add egg whites and cook undisturbed. They’ll start to hiss at you at around 3 minutes. Try not to take it personally. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss, scraping pan. Lower heat to medium. Add garlic. Cool another couple of minutes, stirring that mofo from time to time. Add taters and scallions, cook til hot and succulent, them add yolks.

Leave a Reply

