It is not pudding: part one

18 Jul

It is not pudding. It is a pudding. In the British pudding-as-generic-word-for-dessert way.
Pudding is to British as coke is to some areas of the USA. The South?

If you say “coke” for all soda types tell me and let me know where you are from. Seriously lurkers. Do.

Anthropologist, linguist, and actor. That’s me.

20120711-011138.jpg

I first made this for a very important reason:
Because it is pretty. And I like soggy bread.

Really.

I make it a lot now every summer because it’s friggin’ Delicious.

No, I am not against the word “Delicious” in my writing.
I know blogsnobs shun Delicious as unoriginal.
I, however have no huge need to prove my vocabular worth here. At least in this blog entry. Please excuse the fact that The Gruel page has a section devoted to Brain Food.

I tried really hard to pimp out the cute factor on this pretty pudding but had some difficulty. I’m really not a very good photographer. Still, the image at the top of the post is better than my first shot:

20120711-011505.jpg
No?
For those of you nervous about a molded dessert, this is not hard. But there will be an easier version of this coming at you this weekend. Hold yer horses.

Berry Pudding(adapted from this Bon Appetit recipe)

1 cup blueberries
2 cups raspberries
1/4 cup sugar
About 6 slices bread(gluten-free folks use your bread of choice)
2 tbsp. butter

Line a bowl with plastic wrap leaving enough overhang to be able to fold over the top. I used my 4-cup measuring cup. Why use a rounded bowl, I like an architectural dessert.
Butter your bread.
Cook and stir the berries, sugar, and a tablespoon or so of water over medium heat, letting sugar dissolve.
Stir and mash berries a little bit whilst heating. Then bring to a boil and let cook until thickened, between 5 and 10 minutes.
Use bread to line the measuring cup, butter side up. Pour in berry mixture, then top that with any remaining bread, butter side down.
Fold overhanging plastic over bread. Put a plate on top and a can on that to weight it.
Chill at least 12 hours until your bread is good and purple, then un-mold.
Delight in the splendor of purple buttery bread.

7 Responses to “It is not pudding: part one”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) July 19, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Bread? Fruit? Mold? You have me intrigued (especially with your shout-out to the GF fans of your!).

    • Ellen July 19, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      You should make this! I bet you’d have some awesome creative take on it:) Or wait for the non-molded easy version coming on Saturday, heehee…

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Rufina August 3, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    Cool. I can’t bake. I could do this however…

    • Ellen August 3, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      No baking needed for this, so yah, you could do it! I’ll have a couple of drink recipes rolling out in the next week so hopefully there will be even more things suited to you:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maine blueberry pudding(it ain’t) aka it’s not pudding part two « Scrumptious Gruel - July 21, 2012

    […] Fannie Farmer recipe was so very similar to the Summer Berry Pudding I told you about Wednesday. Except it only involved 4 hours in the fridge and was substantially […]

  2. It is a pudding « Scrumptious Gruel - August 1, 2012

    […] give you a non-British-sense-of-the-word pudding. I’d baited you with my two non-pudding puddings. And then I thought of making a more jello-mold type pudding. My experiments substituting agar for […]

  3. Stupid simple « Scrumptious Gruel - August 15, 2012

    […] It looks like wine, tastes like ginger heaven. Incidentally, a splash of the ginger juice to an iced coffee with a dash of cinnamon and a bit of sweetener is wicked delicious. […]

Leave a Reply

