Don’t

11 Aug

20120803-232338.jpg
Don’t drink, kids.
This was to use up the half n half from the Colorado Bulldog.
I put this off cause it seemed caloric, but all the drinking I’ve done has been in ye spirit of fuck calories so I made it. Yep.
And it’s summer and Frostbite sounded just about right.
What’s in a name?
Everything.
What’s in the taste?
Even more.
I will have to give you another recipe to use your leftover half n half on, because you probably should not make this.

If you are into smurf-y looking weird tasting overly tequila-esque drinks, go for it, make this.

If not, stay away. After toasting with myself in the mirror for your viewing pleasure I dumped this. So much for the caloric worry. But I refilled with a chilled zin. The red kind, duh.

You will actually be getting a food recipe that uses half n half on Wednesday. Now here is what you probably will not make:
Frostbite(from the Ultimate Bar Book by Mittie Hellmich)
1 1/2 oz. tequila(I used Sauza blanco)
3/4 oz. blue curaçao(the pretty maker)
1/2 oz. creme de cacao
1/4 oz. creme de menthe(again with the pretty)
2 oz. half n half
Shake all over ice. With vigor. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Mittie doesn’t specify to strain by I’m betting that is the case.

4 Responses to “Don’t”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey August 12, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Woaah! You’ve been on an alcoholic drinks roll 😛 That’s my thing with drinks too… they’re so overly loaded with calories -.- I’m not sure about the numbers exactly but I think I remember reading that on a typical night out it’s usual to consume about 2 thousand calories! That’s a day’s worth of food 0.0 Not going to lie but that’s one of the reason I avoid girly drinks; the other is money as I’m a poor uni student 😦 I guess moderation is key…

    • Ellen August 12, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      Moderation is key! My poor mom reading my blog had to be reassured that I am in no danger of becoming an alcoholic because a) I hate being drunk b) I rarely actually finish the mixed drinks I make for the blog because I’m not a big fan of drinking alone and c) When i do drink I am mainly a glass-of-wine with dinner sort of drinker and I am pretty sure I’ve heard that is actually good for you. True I have avoided girl drinks for the calorie factor but I have to tell you unless you are capable of drinking, I dunno, 5-8 martinis(depending on how big they are) you are not going to drink 2000 calories of alcohol in a night. Hehe, it is actually that obsession with calories though that I am trying to avoid right now since I’m trying to put on a couple of pounds…hence all the girl drinks on the blog:)

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Ellen August 12, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      Oh! Also next Wednesday will be back to actual food so never fear, there will be recipes for non-drinkers again!

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stupid simple « Scrumptious Gruel - August 15, 2012

    […] uses more of that half n half you bought for the Colorado Bulldog and probably did not use for the Frostbite. Because I said it […]

Leave a Reply

