It’s a gift

22 Aug

20120818-003044.jpg
Wrapping things prettily. I lack this gift. I am not gifted in the gift department.

This was an effort to make less gruel-ish gruel: a delicate savory custard wrapped in greens. An attempt to make things that are tidy and delightful and pretty.

Like when I try to be a girl. Which being an actor in LA has taught me more about.
For better or worse my bookings increased at a rate directly proportional to my mascara usage.

So maybe my blog readership will be inversely proportionate to how gruelish my pix are.

And now, mascara-wearing pretty-ish but tidy only in housekeeping girl that I am, I went to my love, Mark Bittman for a recipe.

Unfortunately, my custard did not stay within its romaine leaf confines. It needed sturdier greens. And defter fingers than mine to assemble them.

The taste was exquisite though, particularly with a twist if freshly ground bay sea salt.
Proof that gruel rules. So does skipping make-up. Cause I do enjoy saying fuck you to Hollywood from time to time.
Just as an unmade-up face can be more beautiful, so can an unwrapped Custard:

20120818-145005.jpg

So I shall dine in un-made up glory. As should you.

Wrapped Savory Egg Custard(slightly adapted from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman)
Greens of choice
1 egg
1 yolk
1 cup almond milk
Thyme
Time
Cayenne
1/4 tsp. salt
Dunk greens in boiling salted water for several seconds to soften then cruelly thrust into ice cold water. Dry. Line two nonstick sprayed dishes with ends o greens sticking out at the top. Or if you want to be able to keep an eye on your custard (though my failure at wrapping proved my worry unnecessary)line only one.
Put almond milk and a bit of dried thyme in a small pot and cook until it steams. Whisk egg, yolk, a pinch of cayenne and salt in a separate bowl. Take milk off heat. Turn off burner, please remember to turn it off. Preheat oven. 300 F. Put water in your kettle and start heating to boil. Add the milk mix gradually to eggs, whisking all the while. Pour into the lined(or not!) dishes, fold overhanging greens over and put in a larger dish. Pour water that by now should be boiling within an inch of the top of the custard.
Bake until it sets, which is tough to tell under the greens, hence the one unlined baker I admit but it will be around a half hour.

9 Responses to “It’s a gift”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey August 23, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    Haha! I wish I could say that prettiness helps in science but I’m not 100% sure. I’ll let you know how that goes as I undergo my make-over, especially since I’m pretty much in an all boys lab 😛

    • Ellen August 23, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      Hmmm, who knew?Labs are the new pick-up joints…:)

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Nadiya @ Milk and Honey August 26, 2012 at 5:15 am #

        Lmao! Actually lots of scientists find their husband/wife at the neighbouring lab 😉

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) August 23, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Cruelly thrusting your greens into ice cold water! You sadist! 😉 But really I love eggs and I love greens, so this looks fun!

    • Ellen August 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Oh, I am mistress of the leaves, haha. Yes if you get a chance to make this and it turns out prettier than mine, send me a pic! Or maybe I’d make you a guest blogger and you could school me! Sent from my iPhone

  3. Ameena August 26, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    I am terrible at presentation…seriously. I can actually wrap a gift decently but making food look tasty is something I am inept at!

    Hope you had a great weekend Ellen!

    • Ellen August 26, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

      It was good, I hope yours was too! Glad to know I’m not alone in my presentation problems-here’s to us gruel-makers;)

  4. R Taylor September 5, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    Well I too am not good at presentation, I keep on working on it, but I am more particular taste. I’m sure this custard tastes very good.

    • Ellen September 5, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      If you decide to try it, let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

