In memory

3 Oct

20120924-192021.jpg
Chupa, meet your cocktail namesake:

20120916-001300.jpg
Chupa was an excellent pet. Not my pet, but one I became close to over the last several years. There was nothing like being woken up by the Chup-ster. Someone in St. Louis put your hands over Java’s eyes lest he see that. I swear cats can read only the things you don’t want them to.
I came across a recipe for a drink called the chupa cabra and thusly made it in her honor. Then I googled it and found a lot of different chupacabra recipes, all wildly different, but they all had tequila. So even if you don’t make this, do a shot and send some cat love.

Here’s to you, Chupa!

Chupa Cabra(slightly adapted from the Mixology app)

2 oz. white tequila
1/2 oz. Campari
1/2 oz. lime juice
3/4 oz. ruby red grapefruit juice
1 tsp. sugar
Dash of angostura bitters
Slice of lime.
Shake everything but the lime slice with ice then strain.

6 Responses to “In memory”

  1. mom October 3, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Sweet Chupa! I know you miss her.

    • Ellen October 3, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

      Yes, she was a sweet kitty.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) October 4, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Oh, so much sweet love to that little angel you were lucky to have known! I dedicate my glass of wine tonight to sweet Chupa (cuz God knows I cannot drink tequila…) :).

    • Ellen October 4, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      Haha, I don’t think I finished that drink either. I thank you for the wine dedication:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Nadiya October 4, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Aww cute! I absolutely love cats, it’s a common thing among Russian females, i think. Cheers to Chupa!

    • Ellen October 4, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, kitties are good. Even for us non-Russian females. Although people are always telling me I look Russian so maybe that counts for something:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

