You’re golden

12 Dec

20120915-004542.jpg

Are you a pimiento cheese fan? You’re golden. You will love this.

I know that this recipe is mockable. It deserves to be mocked.

It’s friggin’ white sauce, processed cheese, and pimiento.

I had this recipe bookmarked to make forever, then went back and looked at it and wondered what on earth made me think I wanted to make it. It sounded repulsive.

So I had to make it. Just to see.

Curiosity wins! Loved it. Ate it all.

I’m feeling terse today.

Okay then.

I love pimiento cheese.

Evidence.

Golden Celery (adapted from the Betty Crocker Cookbook circa the 60’s-ish)

6-7 stalks of celery
2 Tbsp. chopped onion
1/2 Tbsp. butter
1/2 Tbsp. flour
1/8 tsp. salt
1/16 tsp. freshly ground pepper
1/2 c. Almond milk
3 slices cheddar cheese
1/2 tsp. dry mustard
2 Tbsp. sliced pimiento
Chop yer celery. Bring a pot of agua to boil and add a dash of salt and celery. Bring back to a boil and cook until tender. Take it off the heat and drain.
In a skillet, cook the onion in buttah until tender as your heart. If you’re a mean person cook longer than that. Take off heat, stir in flour, salt and pepper. Cook over low heat stirring just a bit, until blended, then take off heat, add milk and bring back to a boil and cook n stir for a minute. Add cheese and mustard and stir until cheese melts. Add celery and pimiento and stir in. Phew. You are done.

9 Responses to “You’re golden”

  1. Ameena December 16, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    I’ve never had pimiento before!! Can you believe it?

    • Ellen December 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Oh my gosh it’s sooooo good! I hope you get to try some soon.

  2. Bou Shin @ Shin's Vegan Lovin' December 16, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    That celery bit is really interesting. I love pimento cheese in small doses though – the cashew cheeses I make taste a lot like it.

    Now, the only question I have for you is about your utensil – spoon or crackers? ^.~

    • Ellen December 16, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Oooh, for pimiento cheese? Probably just a spoon! But I made a sandwich with it once then put it in the waffle iron so it got melty and that was tasty too:)

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) December 18, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

        Ah the waffle iron…genius invention. I’ve been reintroducing dairy in doses so I might try a modified version of this since I do love celery!

      • Ellen December 18, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

        Go for it! There are some decent vegan cheeses you could probably use. Or maybe a combo of nutritional yeast and almond milk? Hmmmm, now you have me pondering!

  3. milkandhoneyontherun December 20, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Woah! That’s a heck a lot of cheese 😛 I don’t believe I’ve ever had pimiento cheese but there’s always time for firsts 🙂

    • Ellen December 20, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Pimientos are tasty, you should take the plunge:) They are basically just like peppers but…better. You could add them to other stuff besides cheese if you want!

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 45 Holiday Recipes - Foodie Fiasco - December 26, 2012

    […] Low Carb Cranberry Sauce […]

Leave a Reply

