The Things We Ate

7 Aug

20130203-140317.jpg
I’m giving you two recipes AGAIN this week. Like I did last week.
I am going spoil you silly, my loves.

One recipe is gooooood (see above pic) and one is not. These recipes are both from a vintage cookbook. Chosen because of last week’s occurence.
All this is pre-amble to today’s tale:

Go crazy cooking nerds! I spoke to America’s Test Kitchen. Yep. Me, on the phone with Chris Kimball and Bridget Lancaster. Or B-lanks, as I like to call her. I called their podcast because I was a nerd, with a nerdy question about my nerdy vintage cookbook. Then I geeked out with them about those funny, funny quotes in the book about men and chervil.

Men and herbs. Hilarious.

I was SO NERVOUS. More nervous than when I perform. Well, maybe not quite as nervous as doing stand-up makes me, but I was at least as nervous as I am before an improv show. That’s the comedian’s scale of of nerves, I guess.
Listen to my nerdiness here. I come in around 8 minutes, 26 seconds.

Speaking of nerves, I am only mildly nervous for an improv how this Friday.

Right now my mind is more pre-occupied with nerves for this bloody wrist surgery I am getting Monday. Seems like things in my bionic arm are not in place, and one of the many plates in it needs to be taken out. If you wanna know the full bionic story i chronicled it here.

Yeaaaaaahhhh. It’ll be ok. Maybe I can get someone to take a picture if the innards of my arm. I’d do it, but I’ll be under anesthesia.

It’s FINE. Really. I’m being dramatic here.

Anyway. Food! Lets!

I included the disgusting Mulled Jelly recipe I told my ATK friends about in the interview. Scroll past for the deliciousness that is the other recipe. It is for egg toast. It’s a keeper.

The jelly.
Why bother trying to make it purty?

20130201-021300.jpg
Grody!
It takes second in the weird department only next to the Dimetapp Pie made by the brilliant MadMan.

God I love italics. I even love the word italics.

Mulled Jelly

1 egg white
1 Tbsp. grape jelly
1 tsp. sugar
1 teacup boiling water
1 large cracker (or very dry toast)
Firstly, ya beat up the first few ingredients. Add agua and keep beating. Crack in the cracker. Choke down in the name of art.

Now the good. Not sure why it is called Nun’s Toast. Much like 1600 Penn today, there are many mysteries in the 1915 White House. Cookbook.
Nun’s Toast adapted from The White House Cookbook
Olive oil
1 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. chopped onion
1 tsp. flour
1/2 c. Almond milk
2 sliced hard-boiled eggs
Sea Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Toast, buttered
Spray a small pan with olive oil and add butter. When it is melted, add onion. When onion is softened, add flour. Add milk stir all until smooth. Add eggs, salt, and pepper to taste. Stir until hot then pour over toast. Which is buttered. Duh.

6 Responses to “The Things We Ate”

  1. sippitysup August 10, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Mulled is an unattractive word whether it’s attached to jelly or wine. GREG

    • Ellen August 10, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      True that. An accurately gross word for a gross dish, I suppose.

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities August 13, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    Hey food words can sounds disgusting… But as long as they taste delicious, it doesn’t matter AT ALL! I mean… You think of lard and you want to gag, but fat is so delicious, ha ha ha!

    • Ellen August 13, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Fat is delicious, it’s true! Unfortunately the mulled jelly lived up to its disgusting sounding name, haha.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Kate@Diethood August 14, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    You spoke to ATK!? AWESOME!! I love your nerdiness!! 😀 That jelly thing, not so much. 😉

    • Ellen August 14, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

      Good to have fellow nerds reading! And yeah, I think everyone is on board with deeming the jelly a major fail!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

