For Eeyore not eyesore

5 Sep

IMG_2004

Last week, like a dutiful parent, I left you guys with a sandwich, whilst I went out to cavort over craft cocktails for my birthday. One of said cocktails had Cynar in it. Which is my new bar toy. So I’m bringing the party back to you this week. Sandwich not included.

I get obsessive with particular ingredients and with particular recipes. After buying this beauteous bottle of Cynar ( a bittersweet artichoke liqueur), I scoured the web for appealing recipes.

The recipe obsession with Cynar is less time consuming, but more dangerous than, say, the Summer of Tamale Pie I once weathered, or Autumn of Chia Seed I’m about to embark on. But it is at least as exciting as my Annual Pumpkin Weeks in Spring.

This recipe also taught me something: even wicked things are good in small amounts. The wicked thing of which I refer to is my loathed gin. I actually like gin in this recipe, which I found on The Straight Up. Campari is the main alcohol, or base spirit (and we all know alcohol is oh-so base) in it and the herbal gin plays off it in a very subtle way.

I was also excited for this recipe since it would use my other new bar toy: big ol’ bottle of Fernet Branca.

I’ve no idea why this is named after Eeyore being as it is a merry red color, and makes me happy.

But now I have a very good reason to visit the Violet Hour in Chicago, the bar Toby Maloney created the drink for. Not that I lacked reason to go before. I’ve heard good things about that place.

Oh, the places I’ll go.

Eeyore’s Requiem (based on this recipe)
1.5 oz. Campari
.5 oz. gin (I used Bombay Dry)
.25 oz. Fernet Branca
.25 oz. Cynar
.5 oz. white vermouth (they call for Dolin Blanc, I used Martini and Rossi)
15 drops of orange bitters
3 orange twists
Stir all but the twists over ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Twist your twists over the drink to get the oils out and discard. Sip.

10 Responses to “For Eeyore not eyesore”

  1. Ameena September 7, 2013 at 5:57 am #

    A happy belated birthday to you! I hope you have the most fantastic trip!

    • Ellen September 7, 2013 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks Ameena! It was pretty darned good day:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. The Straight Up September 7, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    Looks great, I’m glad you enjoyed it! Eeyore’s Requiem is definitely one of my favorites. You probably saw, but I have some other Cynar recipes on the site you might like. I haven’t posted it yet, but another good one is called the “Art of Choke.” It’s pretty popular around the web tho so shouldn’t be hard to find.

    • Ellen September 7, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

      I have several of your recipes bookmarked to try! And thanks for the recommendation, I’m off to find Art of Choke right now:)

      • The Straight Up September 8, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

        Awesome! Let me know what you think!

      • Ellen September 8, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

        Will do! I found the recipe for art of choke. I gotta get my hands on some green chartreuse…

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. Sabrina Bolin September 11, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    Artichoke? Alcohol? What will they think of next! Sidenote: Love that you name your cocktails whatever you darn well please :).

    • Ellen September 11, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      Hehe, I only wish I named it-but Eeyore’s Requiem is actually the original creator’s idea!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. sippitysup September 12, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I have a very similar cocktail in my new book (Savory Cocktails) I call Bitter Beauty. GREG

    • Ellen September 12, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      I want to make it! Thanks for reminding me I need to get the book. I’ve had fun with Savory Pies so I’m sure there is even more mischief to be found in Savory Cocktails.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

