As Noir As My Soul

16 Sep

  
That is…pinot noir.

I dunno you guys. Rarely do I so totally agree with the winery tasting notes but SIMI was spot-on when they sold me on their 2013 Sonoma Valley Pinot Noir.

The look: pure ruby red. Like if you look at an actual ruby, you’d say that is the same color as that pinot by SIMI. Ain’t no fucking almost royal blue merlot. Your teeth will not turn purple. Pink maybe.

Take a whiff and get a nose full of cherry and spices I associate with pumpkin recipes. I’m not saying this smells like pumpkin, mind you. Just the spices I associate with it.

Take a sip and you get some roasted pear, and maybe a fig or so and some more rich pureed cherries. And you know what? Speaking of dates I recently got my hands on some fresh jujubes, aka Chinese dates, and I feel like if I roasted them they would go well with this wine.

This really did have a large amount of spice–FOR A PINOT. Because I do not think of pinots as having spice but this one is rich with the peppery ginger and perhaps a bit of nutmeg and…allspice? I taste allspice. Like I said, pumpkin-associated spices. It is a pinot noir that has been having a make-put session with its fifth cousin it is not really related to the Zinfandel and the two would hav beautiful baby grapelets.

There is some elegant acidity that keeps this a light-hearted pinot noir.

It is darkly light. Like my joyful dark soul.

A teensy bit of acid. And lots of love.

Oh, and for some reason it is making me crave the type of bruschetta made of thick grilled Italian bread that is half soggy with roasted tomato and garlic. And I might toss some sage in there.

One Response to “As Noir As My Soul”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 6 awesome and 7 lucky | Scrumptious Gruel - December 30, 2015

    […] is so cool. As cool as saying you like pinot noir […]

Leave a Reply

