Wine I’d more than Grocery-Store settle for

14 Oct

 

A couple weeks ago I mentioned Ravenswood. It is my go-to grocery store wine. It had earned my adoration both in taste and price but got my heart when it was the wine that made my best friend start liking wine. He liked the dark moodiness of the label and name. And I think that somehow made him accept the taste.

And now he’ll drink wine with me. 

Extra dark name extra dark Label extra dark wine dark mood.
There are many dark berries in this.

Duh.

Ravenswood Old Vine Zinfandel Lodi Vintage 2013

Blackberry is the first berry I got. Then some strawberry snuck its face in like “hey! happiness in darkness, my morbid friends!”

It is jam. Dark, morbid delicious jam out of a glass.

There is some earth. The type of earth that has vines and trees sprouting from it, not dry, not damp, just right on a dark spring night.

Like picture that thou art 13 and going through a Wiccan phase and in the park with your best friend around 10 at night (taking a neighborhood walk) and the two of you, high on life, are frolicking and start rolling in the grass. That is the earth in this wine. Young, semi-dewy night earth.

Sniffing (huffing deeply) it I got a lot of berries and some whiff of maybe…flowers? honeysuckle? je ne sais…. like so unsure I’m not even gonna add the “pas”.
I taste some allspice hiding in the dark.

First sip gave an extremely acid ending but that was straight out of the fridge (keep all wine there if your home is warm as it is in LA unless you want your wine tainted by heat) but then I gave this wine some time to get some air and it softened so the scid was just right, running down the sides of my tongue and tickling the back of my tongue at the mid-point and the end in a delightful way.

Delightful. Available at your supermarket. Affordable. I dig. You can bring Ravenswood to my party any day.

Leave a Reply

