ImPorterant

11 Nov

  
Any brand days that is oh-so-bespoke seems to be a “This & That”. Sugar & Spice. Rag & Bone. Noise & Silence.

Yin & Yang?

Oh wait that goes back a bit further.

So I got this truly handsome bottle of 2012 Porter & Plot Pinot Noir. A vino from Club W. And ps if you want a free bottle from them use this link: http://clubw.com/eclifford
and happiness, etc. will prevail. On both your and my ends.

Back to Porter & Plot. It is a Pinot noir I would not think of as so noir-ish. By which I mean this really a saucy bitch! If it were Pinot noir as I think of it, it would seductively sit in the shadows and wait for you to be lured to it.

Instead this brash hussy jumps in your face and is like “HEY! I’M WINE! I HAVE EARTH AND SPICE AND WHATEVER YOU WANT I WILL DO–for the lowlow price of 25 dollars”.

Then once you’ve taken it home for the night it whispers in your ear “ya know that uptight bitch Burgundy or whatshernamenow? Bourgogne? She is an uptight pain, but I will watch football and I don’t care if you are drunk–I may even be happier if you are!”

Now don’t get me wrong. It is not a total whore. It does have the elegant soupçon of earth I associate with an excellent Pinot noir. The berry notes are there. But then there is this spice. I mean, it is RULL good. The brashness of these spices–green pepper, black pepper, pepper-of-all-types-pepper slaps you and you say…this is pinot?

More like pin-OH!

Sorry. Cannot help myself.

It is strongly boozy at 15.4% ABV and as Club Dub-Yuh says would be great for date night. As I mentioned, it is spicy, y’all. For a pinot. Which is what you want on an elegant date, no? Spicy fun under the guise of elegance? Unless you want to get raunchy with your tinder-bad self in which case why the fuck are you drinking wine? Get to the gin/vodka/whisky/shots and get it on.

But as for this pinot. It hides demurely under the smooth labeling & naming:

  
The Understated & Sexy. It walks the tightrope between spicy, acidic, and smooth (Oxford comma forevs y’all). But I still somehow do not feel that it is balanced. So I’d say I REALLY like this wine. And some people may LOVE LOVEY LURVE this wine. But I only like it. But that is my palate.

Yours may be all the gladder to taste this.

7 Responses to “ImPorterant”

  1. Julien Miquel November 11, 2015 at 1:46 pm #

    Fun post. A romantic story with a bottle of wine. Much enjoyed reading 🙂

    • Ellen November 11, 2015 at 2:22 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it:)

  2. Whitney @ To Live & Diet in L.A. November 13, 2015 at 9:16 am #

    You are hilarious. I must try this wine now!!

    • Ellen November 13, 2015 at 1:48 pm #

      Give it a whirl! I’d be curious to hear other people’s thoughts on it too:)

  3. GiGi Eats Celebrities November 18, 2015 at 6:50 pm #

    Weird that this wine really is sexy looking! It’s alluring 😉

    • Ellen November 18, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

      Oh it’s sexy, babeeee!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 6 awesome and 7 lucky | Scrumptious Gruel - December 30, 2015

    […] number refers to the year, duh. 2013 BCE. The number 667 speaks refers to the specific clone of the pinot noir grape. It is a grape that enjoys a cooler climate. Because awesome wines are also supes […]

Leave a Reply

