bright cellars: wine RIGHT NOW

9 Dec

  
This wine, “The Present” Merlot 2014, is from another one of those subscription services that I am digging.

By all means go to this link and take the quiz. Take the quiz it is fun. And quick. And you will get a discount on your vino n stuff, yeaaaaaa. Bright Cellars was founded by MIT grads who developed an algorithm to guide you towards the right wine. And the more you rate the wines you try, the more refined that algorithm gets. I love nada more than mixing nerdery with booze. Well, I love acting and my family more but booze nerdery is high on the list.

This is Merlot YES! Merlot. The wine Sideways made everyone hate.

This wine is approachable, which may be why Merlot got a bad rep in the first place.

I’d say actually that is the MAIN reason why.

Think about it! In relationships, the more elusive and hard to get a person acts, the more we want them. Probably why I’m single. I never want the ones who want me. Grapes like Pinot Noir can be more elusive, delicate, and hard to decipher.

Merlot, however is more friendly. More in your face. Easy going. Merlot is happy as long as you are happy. And so wine snobs decided they’d had enough of overly eager Merlot. I mean, Merlot was texting us like, all the time! And like, never had an opinion of its own! It’s like “Oh, you like berries and vanilla? Then I do too!” So we shunned it and chased after Burgundies who turned up their noses at us with notes of cat piss and tar.

Forgeting all else here are my musings on The Present.

There is a juicy, nummy, sweet presence that makes the snob in me say no. But thing is, it is fucking delicious. And unlike the sweet wines I don’t like this is sweet in an un-cloying way. Maybe it isn’t sweet so much as fruity. There is a difference!

The berries: raspberry, strawberry and mmmmmmmmmberry. You taste it and say mmmmm berry!

It is smooth. It is pleasant. There is some vanilla and a wee bit of spice I couldn’t figure out so then I checked Bright Cellars’ notes, to see what they said. They said green pepper. I am not sure about that but there is a wee bit of pepper of some ilk in the finish.

This grape was from AWD Cellars in Santa Rosa, CA. So I am not sure precisely where in CA the grapes were grown but I’d like to think that my adopted home state can produce some tasty grapes. We are at least good at putting them in bottles with yeast.

2 Responses to “bright cellars: wine RIGHT NOW”

  1. Julien Miquel December 9, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    Good to see wine lovers defending (and enjoying) Merlot. It’s an amazing grape. This wine seems quite good. Cheers 🙂

    • Ellen December 10, 2015 at 12:56 am #

      It was good! And yes, my mission for 2016 is to re-discover Merlot, whether in a nice Bordeaux or non!

Leave a Reply

