6 awesome and 7 lucky

30 Dec

  
So, shall we suppose that a wine named 667 is almost wicked awesome and but instead just very awesome but also lucky? We shall. And so shall we suppose that this is a fine balance of the simple joys? We shall. We shall suppose it balances awesomeness and luck.

Noble Vines 2013 667 Pinot Noir from Monterey, California

The first number refers to the year, duh. 2013 BCE. The number 667 speaks refers to the specific clone of the pinot noir grape. It is a grape that enjoys a cooler climate. Because awesome wines are also supes cool.

It is so cool. As cool as saying you like pinot noir is.

667 is a newer French “Dijon” clone.

It is darker (like my soul).

It is 14.5% alcohol. Who knows about me, that depends on time of day for my soul (12-97%).

It is structured (very like my soul–sometimes unfortunately–for my soul and not unfortunately for the wine).

It speaks of plums and dark cherries to my taste buds (unlike my soul which does not speak to my soul).

Deliciously dark in color for a pinot noir.

Cocoa and plum on the nose.

More more more plum and plush cherry on the tongue.

Oh so slight tannins.

You could drink this wine until kingdom come.

So if the Kingdom of Vino comes, feel free to try some other things, but this wine will offend not a soul. Maybe serve with a meal like, say, a holiday meal with gajillions of flavors. Neither a soul nor flavor could object. Not even Aunty Esther or her Brussel Sprouts Surprise.

It is a Good Wine. Very Good.

5 Responses to “6 awesome and 7 lucky”

  1. Chelsea December 30, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this. I love wine – especially red. I will have to give this one a shot!

    • Ellen December 30, 2015 at 12:30 pm #

      Yes, do try it and let me know how you like it!

  2. Jamila Smith January 17, 2016 at 12:25 pm #

    This distracted me when I was supposed to be doing maths! 🙂

    • Ellen January 17, 2016 at 1:00 pm #

      Oops! Well, hopefully it was a good study break!

      • Jamila Smith January 17, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

        Oh yes! For sure 😉

Leave a Reply

