Goth Goodies + Goth Rice Recipe, sorry no pinot this week

13 Jan

IMG_0575.JPG
Yessssss. I love goth goodies. Things that speak macabre. Or dark. But if they shout Hot Topic I’m out. It’s a fine line, people.

But I dig:

Black jelly beans.

blood oranges.

Beets.

Red wine.

Red kool aid.

But then pink can be goth too.

Oh and DARK chocolate duh.

Pinot NOIR.

I could go for some of that right now.

That being said some prefab goth food is amazzzzzze. Like these skulls:

  
Rightttttt? FIKA also makes chocolate in pill bottles. The feel is like some sort of city grime darkness addict je ne sais quoi vibe. It’s hot. Plus goth.

Also I am into goth because that is when I am at my hottest. Obvi important. Everyone has a style that fits them best and when I am gothed out, well, sometimes people that only see me grimy (improv teams, dancers) are sorta surprised when they see me done up. Like, “Hey, I didn’t realize you were capable of being Attractive ” surprised. Which is semi-insulting: “if you just cover half your face in black eyeliner you’ll look great!”  But I take the compliment. I think it just suits my pallor.
So let’s have goth rice and chill.

Dark and Moody Rice
Adapted from The Athlete’s Cookbook by Corey Irwin and Brett Stewart
Olive oil spray
1/2 c. Diced yellow onion
1 tsp. minced garlic
1 small bay leaf
1/2 c. Black rice
1 1/2 c. Water
3 Tbsp. Diced roasted red bell pepper-I used jarred
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes
1 tsp. paprika
Fresh cilantro to garnish
In a saucepan, heat the oil then turn heat to low and add onion, garlic and bay leaf. Cook about five minutes until onion is softened. Add the rice and turn heat to medium. Cook a couple of minutes, stirring periodically. Add the water, stir, and cover. Cook the rice undisturbed until softened but not overly so-around twenty minutes. Stir in everything else but the cilantro and cook about five more minutes, until the rice is done but still firm. Take off heat, dish up and garnish with cilantro.

3 Responses to “Goth Goodies + Goth Rice Recipe, sorry no pinot this week”

  1. Jamila Smith January 16, 2016 at 2:54 pm #

    Ooh, this sounds good, and it’s vegan. I think I’ll bookmark this recipe and try it out, as I’m due to cook something new!

    • Ellen January 16, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

      Great! Give it a whirl. I imagine it works with brown or white rice too if the black rice is hard to find. Hope you enjoy it:)

      • Jamila Smith January 16, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

        Ah, I didn’t think of that! Thank you, I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

