it is chocolate month!

3 Feb

  
Holy heck Valentines came early for me:

  
Such is the joy of food writing. And it really is my pleasure to report on these Godiva treats because they are beautiful and excellent.

I had a nice selection of the standard truffles plus a bonus Valentine’s flight of more exotic flavors. There was the white chocolate passion fruit that I started into immediately. I was surprised just how…passion fruit-y the filling was. Surprised in a a good way.

Then I moved on to the aztec spice and realized there was not a chocolate I was not into. Downtown LA should be floating in hipsters coated in chocolate covered cherries right now if I were any influence.

Let me move to the rest Limited Edition Valentine’s Day Truffles. The full selection includes Aztec Spice, Chocolate Lava Cake, Strawberry Crème Tarte, Dark Chocolate Soufflé, Milk Chocolate Mousse and White Chocolate Passion Fruit.
Strawberry Creme Tarte was delightful. A rich strawberry gel of sorts in a pink chocolate case. The filling was multi-layered: there ewas the strawberry part as well as a sweet cream. Having the extra cream part helped. I shouldn’t use the word but…num, or nom? One of those cloying terms for deliciousness.
The aztec spice I could eat all day. Just a dark chocolate quality shell and a spicy, creamy interior. Excellent.
Chcolate lava cake, dark chocolate soufflé and the and milk chocolate mouse I was a bit confused on. Like, confused about which was which. Each had layers of varying chocolate on top of each other. and while I do no know which was which I would gobble first, GOBBLE I SAY! Gobble them all.

Giving Godiva my official Valentine’s Day chocolate endorsement.
Not that I won’t eat other chocolate should it find it’s way into my mouth. But the truffle flight truly is a delight.

Leave a Reply

