no make-up Burgundy went to bed this way 

2 Mar

  
The title of this post is how I consumed this wine. I was given little notes from ye olde Garagiste so the notes I give on this are the unvarnished truth of what I thought, unaltered by other tasters’ notes and just before bedtime when I am vulnerable because I fear the bed monster. Only because I have major problems sleeping. That’s where the fear is from. Don’t get ideas.

So. Another Garagiste-procured pick. I’m on a bend. Also I feel no need to buy other wine seeing as I have this enticing collection right now.

Paul Croses Côtes de Nuits-Villages Grand Vin de Bourgogne 2011

That link will give you other tasters’ thoughts. Should you doubt my sleepy musings.

Burgundy in color. Hahahahhahhaa. 

Okay, if you are learning wine, know that “Bourgogne” is what we English-speakers call “Burgundy”. That lovely Pinot Noir-rich region of France. The color of this wine is the color. That explains how we named the color Burgundy burgundy. Ain’t nothing like a burg Burg!

This is medium-light in body. Medium-high in acid. Juicy as sin. And I swear to heck it has tiki spices to it. Largely it is the taste of Velvet Falernum so I am gonna say allspice. Yes. This wine is like a goddamn Christmas holiday in spices crossed with Easter in terms of springtime fruit.

Oh, you beguiling region Bourgogne. Beguiling.

Sexy minx.

Smooth motherfucker.

That’s you.

The wine! That is the wine. It really is smooth.

Okay I am done. No I’m not. This wine hits your tongue with an acidic and spicy kick then slides over the tongue. Smoothly in the center but you will feel the sides tingling. It is nice. I don’t know that I am a Burgundy girl in general but I’m digging this doll.

2 Responses to “no make-up Burgundy went to bed this way ”

  1. Rachel March 2, 2016 at 9:11 am #

    I love your blog! Thanks for the funny and informative reviews. You just saved me a lot of pronounciation embarrassment. I’m the least classy wine drinker, ever. At least now I’ll at least sound like I know what I’m saying. xD Cheers!

    • Ellen March 2, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

      Aw thanks Rachel! Well hopefully I see ya around iO or some such place soon and we can analyze their wine in person hehe

Leave a Reply

