I want to be the girl with the most rosé

19 Jul


I was having a Courtney Love moment. It was a moment like “I am so bummed and hating myself so much I am gonna put on a ratty slip and too much makeup and get intoxicated” moment. 

Whilst watching “Blood Into Wine” because 90’s music. And panic attacks yeaaaaaaa. 

Ps the film is about the wine made by the singer of Tool, Maynard Keenan. Caduceus is the name of the wine. I promise to get my hands on some. Especially because he named one of the wines after his mom–named Judith–which is also my mum‘s name. I will try some soon as I can get it. 

Anyway all this homage to the 90’s made me wonder what the venerable blonde lovely Mzzzz Love would drink?

I mean ideally, in my imagination it is whiskey.

But in terms of wine I think French wine, mais oui. I am not sure why France. But I feel like Courtney would chill out happily there. And the wine is pink because it is not cake but it might as well be pretty. 

I went with a 2015 specimen from Provence:

Chateau Trians Rosé Coteaux Varois

Also, just watch the movie and go to around somewhere between minute 35 and 40 to hear a great take on screaming your angst into the ether. Then listen to some Tool. Also around 1 hour 10 minutes there is the lovely gem “if you have a Walmart palate you have a Walmart palate”. Loving wine is all about being open to it. ALL of it. 

So let’s get into the wine of this week. It is made from 60% Grenache, 30% Cinsault, 10% Syrah. 13.5% alcohol by volume.

It is a pale peachy salmon color. Smells of cold peach ice cream and perhaps a wet rock (limestone? Slate?) that is wet because a lemon was squeezed over it. Jesting but I’m not.

On the gosh darnit tongue: dry, medium-minus acid, medium body. The flavors? Frozen strawberries (yes FROZEN it tastes different I promise ye) and, maybe honeydew? Some mellow tartness of sweetness like a kumquat rind. The minerality is there and delightful. And by minerality I mean that lemon juice on boulders bullshit I was speaking of earlier.

Reading other tasting notes I saw wild strawberries and red currants referenced a lot but I don’t have a lot of wild strawberry experience. The only currant experience I have is black currant jam. Hence my inability to reference them.

Anyway, if it were 90’s Courtney perhaps she would turn her nose up until I mentioned it was like 12 bucks for this super duper sipper. I dunno. Anyway I liked this one for the price. I would pay up to, say, 30 for it were I you, because I, personally usually spend between 10 and 20 for a bottle but it is a good deal. I am into it. It’s somewhere between I-want-very-good and I-do-not-want-to-think-too-too-much.

So that is that. But I still want to be the girl with the most cake.

Okay going online to find Tool wines.

2 Responses to “I want to be the girl with the most rosé”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities July 20, 2016 at 12:47 pm #

    OH GOSH! Never ever ever stoop to Courtney Love’s level – PUHH LEEEEZE!

    • Ellen July 20, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

      Awwww, but, not even a little 90’s grunge fashion?;)

Leave a Reply

