Java 

20 Sep


I know this is a food and wine blog but I must write of the pet named for the beverage I adored first.

Before I become nuts on cocktails.

Before I started obsessing on wine.

I LOVED (luv still even) coffee. Love in the way in which the mere inhalation of coffee beans or a cup of brew inspire comfort and excitement for the task at hand.

I never became the coffee expert. 

But I loved it so I named a cat for it. Because he was black, bitter, and so is my coffee of choice.

Hence: Java the cat.

Maybe someday I’ll name a cat Mourvèdre but I am still in mourning for Java.

Java, my true love, stared at me from the depths of the Humane Society cage. His cranky meow convinced me that I WOULD be a stereotypical goth with a black cat to match my lipstick.

We said goodbye to him last Wednesday.

I loved him. I love him. He was my heart. He saved my life. At a time I could not care for anyone, myself included, he taught me to look outside myself. 

He lived 17 happy cat years and I am grateful for that but mourn him yet.

My love Java.

Rest in peace sweet baby boy.

2 Responses to “Java ”

  1. Erin F. September 20, 2016 at 10:13 am #

    Hi Ellen…old friend from Castlewood….I’m really sorry to hear about Java…he touched a lot of womens’ lives when he lived there with you and his legacy will live on any many hearts. He had a good and long life and he was loved by so many people, especially you…you were soul mates 🙂

    • Ellen September 20, 2016 at 1:40 pm #

      Erin! It is so nice to hear from you. Thank you for the kind thoughts, I’m happy I got to share Java with Castlewood:)

Leave a Reply

