Gazpacho and

22 Aug

20130720-145456.jpg

Yeeeeaaaaah summer food. This is worth it. Worth buying the fresh herbs. Worth getting good feta.

And you can even make it with a handicapped right arm, if you have a food processor. Although to be honest I made this about a month ago.

And hey, you will probably have leftover V-8 so there may be a Bloody Mary in your future.

Here’s the update on my arm. I had a follow-up appointment and was told that apparently they took all the metal out. That complicated matrix of plates and pins I thought was holding me together is no more. The bionic arm is no more.

On one hand I feel bereft. The last three years it has been like a shield. A guardian. Don’t fuck with my arm, it’s full of metal.

On the other hand, I feel reborn. With the guidance of that metal, my bones knit themselves back together. I no longer need that metal. The baggage is gone. My bones are stronger than their technology.

My arm is all MINE again.

On the imaginary third hand. The “it was surgery, not a suicide attempt” scar that had faded so nicely over the years will be back, and probably a bit bigger.

I’ll just look at that as a badge of honor.

Food!

Daphne Oz’s book, “Relish” is both adorable and obnoxious. If you have time to curate your closet, good for you. Goooood for you.

I lie. I totally curate.

I curated the shit out of that metal in my arm.

Watermelon and Jalapeño Gazpacho with feta adapted from Daphne Oz’s Relish
1 big chopped tomato (1 1/2-ish cups)
1 heaping cup chopped watermelon
1 peeled, chopped cucumber
2 Tbsp. jarred pickled jalapeño slices
1/4 c. chopped shallot
Juice of one lime
2 Tbsp. parsley
2 Tbsp. mint
1/2 tsp. chopped garlic
2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
1/2 c. V-8
Pinch kosher salt
Garnishes
Feta
Hot sauce (Chipotle Tabasco!)
Vegan Worcestershire
Combine all but the garnishes in the food processor. Make as thick and chunky or thin and blended as you like. Garnish with the fixings. I didn’t think it needed almost any of the hot sauce or Worcestershire but they play well with the feta.

6 Responses to “Gazpacho and”

  1. Todd @ HonestlyYUM August 27, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    I totally agree. Fresh is definitely the way to go. Especially with something as refreshing as a gazpacho!

    • Ellen August 27, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      For sure:) I can’t imagine putting dried herbs in gazpacho…

  2. Sabrina Bolin August 27, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    And to this I must share my gazpacho story…after a particularly satisfying afternoon in the kitchen (which had followed a satisfying morning at the Farmers Market), I poured my freshly blended gazpacho into a bowl, covered it in foil, and put it in the fridge. After running a few errands, the man and I returned, and upon pulling something else out of said fridge, the man proceeded to pull the bowl of gazpacho out and slow-motion matrix style it came crashing to the ground.

    My response: I went into the bathroom. And cried.

    And to this day I have not made gazpacho again.

    Oh goodness, I’m so dramatic – I wasn’t that traumatized – just lazy I suppose. I flippin’ LOVE gazpacho, and you’ve inspired me to give it another go while the man is out of town (and away from the fridge where the gazpacho will be stored!).

    P.S.
    Welcome back to the human race, bionic woman! Happy to hear the surgery went well (ish) and that you’re on the mend :).

    • Ellen August 27, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      Oh! I might cry too! Especially if you were cutting everything up by hand. This one is delightfully easy once you get your ingredients. Let me know if you give it a whirl:)

  3. sippitysup August 29, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    Hmmm. I think I in advertantly stole your joke with my recent “Burrata and…” post. Oops. XOGREG

    • Ellen August 29, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Oh, I didn’t even notice that! Once I hear the word burrata that’s all I can focus on, haha. Now I’m thinking of gazpacho and burrata and…

Leave a comment