Bad-ass mofo food for my Cards!

26 Oct

Last chance for my red birds, so I made some red beets. Go Cards! I believe in you.

Love me some beets. And some eggs. Earlier this year I made eggs pickled with beets so when I saw this recipe for Devilled Eggs with Pickled Beets I could not resist.
Plus making complicated food like this makes me feel like a bad-ass mofo.
Even though it is pink.
Although embracing and reclaiming pink from Barbie also makes me feel like a bad-ass mofo.
In short, that’s what I am.
A bad-ass mofo.
With eggs.
I reduced the number of eggs and kept the same amount of beets. I don’t think I could take down a dozen devilled eggs before they started to turn. I think they are pretty sexy. Actually I think beets are incredibly sexy food. Such a deep, lustful red. Voluptuous both in shape and color. I digress. My rendition:
Devilled Eggs with Pickled Beets(adapted from Bon Appetit)
3 small beets, trimmed
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1 1/2 Tbsp. each of sugar and splenda
1 Tbsp. coriander seed
1 Tbsp. mustard seed
2 cloves
1 bay leaf
1/4 tsp. sea salt, plus more
4 eggs, hard-boiled
1 Tbsp and 1 tsp. vegan mayonaise
3/4 tsp. prepared jarred horseradish
Wrap beets in foil and roast in a 400 degree oven til done, about 45 minutes. Cool enough to handle then peel and cube. Put in wide shallow container.
Bring vinegar, sugar, 1/4 tsp. sea salt, coriander seed, mustard seed, cloves, and bay lead to simmer in small saucepan. Simmer 10 minutes then pour over beets. Cool to room temp then refrigerate overnight, turning occasionally.
Halve eggs and put yolks in a bowl. Mash, mix with mayo then put through stainer. Mix with horseradish, a pinch of salt and 1 tsp. of strained beet pickling juice then divide between egg whites.

What makes you feel like a bamf?

2 Responses to “Bad-ass mofo food for my Cards!”

  1. Sabrina November 1, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Wearing my biker chick Frye’s boots makes me feel like a BAMF…while chopping kale. Gotta have my kale.

    • Ellen November 1, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      True BAMFs know the power of greens conquers all. Well, all but chocolate maybe:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment