Gratitude

29 Nov

20131129-170512.jpg

This week’s picture and recipe both courtesy of my deep need to pimp my latest column for Hello Giggles. You can get the recipe for Death by Chocolate Until You’re Blue-berry in the Face, and my musings on Charlie and the Chocolate Factory here. So to kick off this week’s list of giving thanks in honor of Thanksgiving, I’ll say thank you Zooey Deschanel, Molly McAleer and Sophia Rossi for founding a stellar website and letting me spew silly stuff about books and food on it. And now because I am sitting here biding my time on a bus back from LAX to home, I shall regale you with all that I am thankful for.
1) first and foremost my family. They are the best. Everyone should have such great parents. I really don’t have enough room to tell you how wonderful they are.
2) acting work. In this last year I’ve gotten to work with an awful lot of talented people. I’ve been in a movie on the Chiller Network. I’ve met some great casting directors and finally gotten into some casting offices I’d dreamed of getting a shot at. I finally felt like a part of pilot season. Now to keep it up!
3) improv/comedy: I am on an improv team I LOVE. We get the opportunity to perform every single week (Every Sunday unless there are 5 in a month-then we don’t do the 5th- 7pm! The Neon Venus). I also have a practice group from UCB classes I adore who hopefully will start doing shows soon. And I’ve done some scaryscaryscary stand- up.
4) auditions-still going out all the dang time and have a buddy who is always there to help me prep, and who I help get ready too. It’s good having an acting teammate.
5) writing. Up to episode ten on the episodic I’ve been writing. Blackboard Eats still sends me to some snazzy places, and I got the gig to write for Hello Giggles-so now I can claim that all my reading and cooking is in the name of my work writing The Book Cook.
6) You guys! Thank you for reading this. I’m sending y’all love, love love. Cause love is all you need.
7) friends. Hot dang I have some good ones, near and far. Now is a good time to thank Skype for keeping me closer with the far ones. As for the near ones, hot dang they’ve got my back. And they are into having pie parties. What more does a girl need?
8) baseball. A girl needs baseball. Finally got to a game. Granted I’d be even more grateful if the Cardinals had won the World Series but I’m proud of my hometown team all the same.
9) Patti Smith and Trent Reznor. My two biggest musical idols and I got to see them both.
10) Los Angeles. City I love you.

It hasn’t been ALL amazing, sure. There have been arm surgeries and jobs I didn’t get and traffic jams and foiled plans but all in all, I’m awfully happy.
I’m going to go hug the world now. Lies. I’m going to go home and do work worky work work just as soon as I get there.
Love,
Ellen

16 Responses to “Gratitude”

  1. Ameena November 29, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    You have lots of things to be thankful for, you are super lucky Ellen!

    The traffic jams? Not so much. 😦

    Happy Belated Thanksgiving to you!

    • Ellen November 29, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

      Happy belated Thanksgiving to you too Ameena!!! I am also super lucky to have you as a blogosphere-friend:)

  2. Adri December 1, 2013 at 8:45 am #

    Lovely. This was a pleasure to read, and may the new year bring even more happiness.

    • Ellen December 1, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you!! May your coming year bring joy too:)

  3. plantbasedscientist December 1, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    Yay for thanksgiving. You definitely have a lot to be grateful for. I have so much catching up to do with your blog 😛 Although it sounds like things are going well for you with acting and things in general 🙂

    • Ellen December 1, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

      Stuff is moving along! I’ve been excited to see you are back at the blogging too. You feed my inner scientist:)

  4. Her Mommyness December 3, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    So glad that you have so many things to be thankful for. Wishing you a very happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    • Ellen December 3, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Thank you for stopping by the blog and commenting:)

  5. sippitysup December 6, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    Your love of life is infectious! GREG

    • Ellen December 6, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

      Glad to pass along the fever:)

      • Sabrina Bolin December 10, 2013 at 11:42 am #

        I have to agree with Greg – love all the sparks of awesomeness going off in your world!

      • Ellen December 10, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

        Thanks m’dear! “Sparks of awesomeness””-I love your terminology:)

  6. Live Learn Eat (@LiveLearnEat) December 10, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Congratulations, especially on #2 – it’s such a tough industry to break into (I’m trying, too) and it’s great to hear that you’re seeing success!

    • Ellen December 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      Thanks!! Good luck to you with your efforts, it’s a lot of work, but not totally if you love what you do, right?

  7. Whitney @ To Live & Diet in L.A. December 10, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Congratulations on all your acting, writing, and comedic success! It sounds like you have a lot going on and it will only get better with time! I may just drop by your improv sometime 🙂

    • Ellen December 10, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      Thanks!! Yeah, come on by for the improv-it’s good fun:) and twould be great to meet you!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a comment