I can please them all

30 Jun

20120616-013808.jpg
How smashing that something on my to-make list was already gluten-free.
As I mentioned here a great deal of my fellow thespians in a Midsummer Night’s Dream(next Saturday the 7th is the last show-get your ticket and come see it!!!) are gluten-intolerant. So I made the chocolate cookie bars in a gluten-free manner and they were killed.

By the actors. In the green room. With their mouths.

Except for Demetrius, poor Demetrius, couldeth not been truer foul fortune for him. He eateth gluten, but is lactose-intolerantenty and thusly could not indulge in ye cookies.

This recipe was already on my to-make list and already gluten-free. I had to use almond milk and vinegar instead of buttermilk but it all worked out.

Normally I am a “northern” cornbread person. I prefer sweet and buttery to drier and cornier. This cornbread strikes a pretty good balance. The bean purée helps maintain a slightly softer texture, but it is not terribly sweet and the corn flavor stands out. I don’t think a piece should be eaten naked(you or the bread) but t’would hold up covered in butter and honey or dunked in spicy chili.
Then again, pretty much everything works well with butter.

Eateth up.

Corn and Bean Bread(adapted from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman)
1 c. Almond milk mixed with
1 Tbsp. Of vinegar and allowed to sit while you get everything else ready OR 1 c. Buttermilk
1 1/2 c. Cooked white Beans(drained, puréed, then strained)
1 1/2 c. Cornmeal
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp. Sugar
2 eggs
Heat your oven to 375. Spray an 8×8 pan with nonstick spray. Mix beans, milk and eggs. Mix cornmeal, baking powder, salt and sugar. Stir together. Put in your pan and bake until top is starting to brown a just a bit, 30-ish minutes. The clean toothpick test applies as well. Feed a starving actor.

6 Responses to “I can please them all”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey June 30, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    That’s an intense recipe. Can you imagine a nut/ soy allergy added on to that as well 😛 That’d be a challenge 😀

    • Ellen June 30, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      Yeah, and thank goodness none I them are vegans-I’d have to get rid if the eggs too…

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) July 2, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Intense but simple – I love the simplicity of this!

    • Ellen July 2, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Simple is always nice! Straining the beans after purée-ing takes a bit of time but I think it could be skipped if you don’t mind the occasional bean lump in your bread…

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Ameena July 2, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Simple definitely is almost always better…love this Ellen!

    • Ellen July 2, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Thank you Ameena! Now if only people would appreciate my simple mind;)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment