What comes before a part B

7 Jul

20120506-233622.jpg
Part A
Partay!
I love cheese.
This post is a wee bit old, but a while back we had a lil’ sit on the floor dinner party.
A small one with these goons:

20120506-234034.jpg
Since I was hosting I took it a bit easy and tried only one new recipe, this Cucumber Salad from Bon Appetit.
Yeah, I left off the avocado. I had guacamole coming and I already hate avocado. I can only allow so many of these green slimy monsters in my home.
And I have a fork and know how to use it.

20120510-002745.jpg

Our friend Francis (seated center, above) however, the lone brave male at the fete, foodie that he he is, outdid himself, bringing polenta we broiled with cheese, rolling out dough for pizzettes, making banana nutella ice cream(puree a whole bunch of frozen bananas with some nutella and you get instant ice cream)and bringing two types of ginger beer for Moscow mules-and it was all wonderful.
Damn that was a long sentence.

But I think the winner of the night was Alice’s creation. Perhaps you remember Alice?
Inventrix of the Mo-alicell?
Alice who learned how to get grindy with me?
Poor Alice who I screwed in the birthday cake department?
Alice an I have done some grinding, some screwing, an now we were being boring and chewing. Kumquats.

She concocted a mixture of watermelon, kumquat rind, mint and brown sugar that more or less blew my mind.

I’d ne’er had a kumquat.

I will try to stop using Shakespeare-esque words like ne’er after today.

Tonight is closing night for Midsummer, and I would be promotional and post a link for tickets but we sold out all weekend.

Kumquats, acting, and dinner parties. Life could be a whole hell of a lot worse.

6 Responses to “What comes before a part B”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey July 7, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Congratz with your show 🙂 That’s amazing that you guys are sold out ^^ I’d come watch if I wasn’t a 5 hour flight away… “green slimy monsters”- that’s an interesting way to refer to avocados. I rarely eat them because I’m never home and they always get black by the time I want to eat them -.-

    • Ellen July 7, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      Aw, I appreciate the sentiment about the play. When I am a rich woman I’ll just fly in my friends for such events;) Sorry if that was a rather gross description of avocados, hehe..

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. mom July 7, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    My parents had a kumquat bush when I was growing up. It was cool because you could pick it right off the bush and eat the whole thing, rind and all.

    • Ellen July 7, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      That’s how I ate them the next time I got my hands on some. Actually, Alice gets them from her family’s backyard so she supplied me with some a few weeks ago.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) July 9, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Oh my goodness, the man and I LOVE avocados! Nature’s butter! Must trick you into eating some… 😉

    • Ellen July 9, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      I know I know I know everyone loves it but truly I do not. Ive tried it in dips, as a sandwich spread, in salad, in soup…seriously I gave it my all and no luck;)

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

