Bulgur not vulgar

9 Oct

20131009-210958.jpg

I have been soooo bloody busy. This week involves two shoots in addition to everything else. So as much as I want to throw more cocktails and cakes your way I also think that you deserve a little health. Health comes in the “creamed” flavor, didja know that?

Of course my “cream” involves almond milk but let us ignore that.
The leftovers of this health can be packed and molded and y’all know I love shaped food:

For even more health there is my mush, and deep, deep, philosophical thoughts on Goodnight Moon over at Hello Giggles.

I should ply you with health while I can. I fear that there may be a lot more beverages for you here now that I’m cooking/writing for two. For three counting my lover.

Speaking of lovers (What a segue! It even made sense.), this bulgur comes from my second lover. Well, third lover, counting Trent Reznor.

Because you know Mark Bittman can get bulgur with me any day of the week.

Bulgur not vulgar!

Vulgar is reserved for Trent.

Let’s just get creamy and get it over with. I promise to be chaste next week.

One last thought-leftovers can be packed an molded into shaped food forms. I love food with structure:

20131009-211032.jpg
Creamed Bulgur with chard adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian
Olive oil spray
1/3 cup chopped onion
Several cups of cleaned chopped Swiss Chard
1/2 cup bulgur
1/2 cup almond milk
1 cup vegetable stock
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Nutmeg
Heat a pot over medium, spray with olive oil and sauté onion until soft. Add chard, stir, and cook until wilted. Add bulgur, milk and broth. Stir, cover and turn heat to low for 10 minutes.
Turn the heat off for 15 minutes. Add salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste. Deeeeelish.

7 Responses to “Bulgur not vulgar”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities October 12, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    LOVE FAST AND EASY MEALS… And other things? LOL!!!

    • Ellen October 12, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      Fast n easy! As it should be. Thanks for stopping by to comment!

  2. Sabrina Bolin October 14, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    LOVE your mini-dissertation on Goodnight Moon! And should I be surprised that you added pumpkin? Of course not 😉

    Speaking of pumpkin, I whipping up a delectable healthy-ish dessert…you would love it all except for one part (you’ll know it when you see it):

    1 Cup canned organic pumpkin puree
    1/3 cup Coconut cream (yep, I did it – but you can sub almond milk and add more ice!)
    Frozen banana
    Pumpkin pie spice
    Ice

    Top off with mint and spoon it down! So yummy!

    P.S.
    I’m not sure how I commented on everything EXCEPT your post…so now to your post. I coincidentally (or perhaps NOT so coincidentally) have an entire bunch of chard just waiting to get some lovin’ in the kitchen! So I shall try your recipe!

    • Ellen October 14, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

      Chard lovin’! I love it. Let me know how it goes. And your pumpkin recipe sounds perfect except for that one thing that almond milk WOULD be delectable in. Thank you or reading all my stuff! And for commenting! My but I’m exclamation pointy today…

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. sippitysup October 15, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    I had to google Trent Reznor. I was relieved to find out he was somebody my age. Of course Mark Bittman is even older than me. But I didn’t have to google him. GREG

    • Ellen October 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

      They both just get better with age.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best hits and what may come for the Gruel: Opinions wanted | Scrumptious Gruel - December 31, 2013

    […] I saw the second most clicked upon recipe was for Mark Bittman’s Creamed Bulgur and entitled Bulgur Not Vulgar which of course means it was NOT a chaste entry. But delicious: Next up was a Pumpkin Polenta Pizza […]

Leave a Reply

