A castle n 3 towers

10 May

The me. The wine. The hair all over the dang place.
Well heck. I’d hang there. And by “there” I mean if I could go to the Haut-Médoc in 2010 and nab some of these appellation contrôlée grapes I might just do so.

2010 Chateau Fontesteau Grand Vin Cru Borgeois

PS cellartracker was slightly less unenthusiastic than I but a good deal of those notes were made years ago. 6 years of waiting did well for this bottle.

Yeaaaaa Bordeaux. When it is good (unlike earlier that week at a bar with some overly oaky Bordeaux) it is more than good, it is better. In fact it is Bordeaux-ing on the best.

Mwahaha word jokes.

Country: France

Region: Bordeaux–the Haut-Médoc

Those grapes: Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot

That nose: Cherries, gooseberries (as I imagine they may taste) and some realm of “hey that is fresh”!

In the mouth, it is luscious in a “I do not wanna stop”
way. I mean it. The perfect amount of tannins.

Full confession. I didn’t take notes after this. I mean, Jonathon Gold doesn’t take notes while eating at a place he is reviewing so why should I?

Oh right! Because drinking a wine so good you drink a little much and then decide to go to sleep is gonna inhibit your memory. Oops. Lessons learned:
1) Take a break. Do not swig. Normally I don’t but now I reallyreally won’t.
2) Take notes. Also I normally do this but WTF, I got cocky. Ego adjusted.

Looking forward to living the dream. Responsibly. With notes.

2 Responses to “A castle n 3 towers”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities May 10, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

    LOL so… Did you stop??

    • Ellen May 11, 2016 at 1:53 am #

      Heh, well yeah sooner than I’d have wished had tolerance been higher. I dislike being totally trashed the next day though so I guess I drank enough to decide not to make tasting notes and not enough to be hungover:)

Leave a Reply

