Busy actress=great recipe, less description

12 Feb

20120126-005533.jpg
I haven’t too too much fascinating to say on these corn cakes. I have been a busy busy actress.

I’m all about the repeated words with no comma separating them today. My my.

Why was I busy?

For one, putting together a new set of acting reels!
One funny:

One dramatic:

For seconds, I had a part in a short! Any weekend acting is a good one, particularly with these goombas:

20120211-184606.jpg

And now your regularly scheduled gruel. It was worth wading through all the nonsense about my career to get to the recipe, no?

This is one of the few recipes I have made multiple times.
If you love the sweet corn cakes you get at Mexican restaurant you will love this healthier take on them.

That’s all she wrote, folks.
As I type this I am between shots on set so I better get back to set!

Sweet Corn Cakes from just barely adapted from More Healthy Home Cooking by Evelyn Tribole
5 Tbsp. Smart Balance(I used the light variety that is vegan)
1/3 c. Masa harina(or as auto correct says, mass hate)
1/3 c. applesauce
2 c. corn(I used frozen)
1/3 cup splenda(bad me)
2 Tbsp. buttermilk
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
Preheat yer oven to 350. Spray and 8×8 pan. Beat that balance good. Slowly pour in masa harina and applesauce whilst you beat.
Chop that corn a bit in your lover. I mean in your candy-red Kitchen Aid food processor. My bad. Add that to the other bowl and mix in along with the remaining ingredients. Spread in you pan and bake around 40 minutes. I know, I know, its a thick pasty mix, how could it need 40 minutes? It just does. It should be getting a bit golden on top when you take it out.
This would have been great with the EZ recipe I posted last.

6 Responses to “Busy actress=great recipe, less description”

  1. Ameena February 12, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Who cares if you eat Splenda! You are an actress – I think that is amazingly admirable. 🙂

    • Ellen February 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      Thanks! Yeah, for some reason I always feel like I have to apologize for my usage of artificial sweeteners. Gotta get over that…

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) February 14, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

        They’re EVIL!!! Just kidding…this is evil though:

        1/3 c. Masa harina(or as auto correct says, mass hate)

        HA! I love auto-correct sometimes.

        Thanks for reminding me that corn and “mass hate” can be GOOD things!

        P.s.
        TOTALLY kidding. I’m full of love! Never mass hatin’!

      • Ellen February 14, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

        Oh, Sabrina, I feel the love! I wonder what words auto correct would translate to mass love:)

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. AikoVenus February 15, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    I actually make a similar recipe to the corn cakes – using regular coarse cornmeal instead of masa, though – these look delicious! ^^

    • Ellen February 15, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Sounds good! Based on what I see on your blog your cakes are probably cuter than mine too:) although, give masa harina a try if you can, it’s awesome…

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a comment